LibGuides: US History: Cold War and Civil Rights Movements: Secondary Sources: Journal Articles

Secondary Sources: Journal Articles

Note: Scientific studies published in academic journals are considered primary source material.

Scholarly journal articles are written by scholars for scholars and present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
Many are peer-reviewed; in other words, they must be approved by other scholars in the field before they are published.
Scholarly journal articles generally have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles, and books.
Look for journal article references in the bibliographies and/or notes in your secondary source books, ebooks and other journal articles.

Academic OneFile
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

If you are working off-campus you will need to sign in to library databases via EZ Proxy.
This only needs to be done once per session, and will give you access to all the electronic resources and databases you would typically have while on-campus at Taft.
See the graphic below for a reminder of how to log-in: