US History: American Revolution Annotated Bibliography: NoodleTools Tutorials

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

• Database = an electronic source found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
  • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for   next to the database name.
  • If you find a document in a Taft Subscription Database that doesn't have the export feature, you will need to create an original citation.
  • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, Citable Link. 

• Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch, or a search engine such as Google. 

• Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

• Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
• If you are not sure, you can use Anthology / Collection which enables you to cite a source found within another source.

You can also see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti and we'll help you figure it out.