NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.
Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.
American Revolution: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Blackwell Encyclopedia of the American Revolution
Encyclopedia of Revolutionary America
Black Women in America
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas
Arranged alphabetically, this groundbreaking, two-volume encyclopedia includes articles on all major events, issues, and concepts relevant to the free black community in the United States from the colonial period to the Civil War and in the rest of the Western Hemisphere from the late 1400s to the late 1800s, when emancipation became universal.
Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia
This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history. Slavery in the history of the United States continues to loom large in our national consciousness, and the role of women in this dark chapter of the American past is largely under-examined. This is the first encyclopedia to focus on the daily experiences and roles of female slaves in the United States, from colonial times to official abolition provided by the 13th amendment to the Constitution in 1865. Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia contains 100 entries written by a range of experts and covering all aspects of daily life. Topics include culture, family, health, labor, resistance, and violence. Arranged alphabetically by entry, this unique look at history features life histories of lesser-known African American women, including Harriet Robinson Scott, the wife of Dred Scott, as well as more notable figures. Dozens of photos of former enslaved women Detailed historical timeline Numerous rare primary documents, including runaway slave advertisements and even a plantation recipe for turtle soup Profiles of noted female slaves and their works
Alternate terms: American Indians / Indians / First Nations
American Indians
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
A Reference Source citation has 2 parts:
Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.
If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).
To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
next to the database name.Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.
You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).