LibGuides: Intro. to Psychology: Final Project: Library Resources

Find Magazine Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Source Type: Magazines in the left sidebar of your results list.
TO CITE:Click on Cite in the toolbar to the right of your article. Scroll through the list of citation styles until you reach MLA 9th edition. Copy and paste the citation into your Works Cited document.

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, and links to quality websites, as well as coverage of the latest scientific developments in over 200 magazines and academic journals.
TO CITE: Click on Cite in the menu bar above your article. Copy and paste the full MLA citation into your Works Cited documents.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias and other reference books, articles from magazines and journals, and other reliable sources. Also includes the Science Image Collection, a database of more than 270,000 high-quality science images.
TO CITE: Click on Cite in the tool bar to the right of your article. Copy and paste the full MLA citation into your Works Cited document.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Designed to connect the classroom to real world discoveries, explaining important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
TO CITE: Click on Citation in the tool bar above your article. Copy and paste the full MLA citation into your Works Cited document.

TIP: Including the phrase Psychology or Myth AND [your myth] may improve your search results.

SweetSearch, A Search Engine for Students searches only credible websites approved by research experts.
- Note: Disregard Advertisements that may appear at the top of your search result list.
And if you still want to search Google:
- Improve the reliability of your results by limiting your search to the more reliable domains gov, edu, and ac.uk. The domain gov is used by U.S. federal and state government agencies exclusively, while edu is used only by U.S. colleges and universities. Ac.uk is used by colleges and universities in the United Kingdom.
- COPY and PASTE this phrase into Google along with your search term(s): AND site:gov OR site:edu OR site:ac.uk

Note that universities may allow their students to use their edu domain. If there is a tilde (~) in the address, it may be a personal student page which is not monitored by the institution.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
TO CITE:Click on Cite in the toolbar below your image. Copy and paste the MLA citation into your Works Cited document.

Click on Tools.
Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows users to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.