Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Journalism: Event / Culture / Identity News Article: Resources


WELCOME TO YOUR RESEARCH GUIDE!

 

This page contains reliable, trustworthy resources you can access on or off the Taft campus to help you find information about the topic you are researching.

 

Online Databases for Current Issues Research

NOTE: You may use any images in these databases freely.


Citing Your Sources

A statement from MIT Libraries on why we cite our sources: 

  • To show your reader you've done proper research by listing sources you used to get your information.
  • To be a responsible scholar by giving credit to other researchers and acknowledging their ideas.
  • To avoid plagiarism by quoting words and ideas used by other authors.
  • To allow your reader to track down the sources you used by citing them accurately in your paper by way of footnotes, a bibliography or reference list.

Your Citations

  • Most of our Online Databases provide MLA citations you can copy and paste into your bibliography if your teacher says you may do so..
  • You can also use BibmeBibguruEasyBibor any other electronic citation generator you may be familiar with to create your MLA citations.
  • Create a bibliography document for your project using your Taft Google Docs, and add sources by copying and pasting new citations.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue University Online Writing Lab

FREE Reliable News Websites


Find Reliable Websites Using Sweetsearch

 


Media Bias / Fact-Checking Websites