LibGuides: Journalism Research Resources: Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites.
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.

NOTE: You may use any images in these databases freely.

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern.
NOTE: Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
NOTE: Opposing Viewpoints can be searched together with Gale in Context: Global Issues.
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Coverage of today's most important issues with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news and editorial content, and media. All News content comes from Reuters (see right).
NOTE:Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information from more than 2000 international sources..
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines.
SEARCH TIP: You can try first searching your term(s) in Title. Refine your results further by using the limiters above your search results: choose Full Text; Past 12 Months; Magazines.
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.

U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers 1980s to present: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
SEARCH TIPS: Limit Publication date to Last 12 months or more recent date range. In the left sidebar on your search results page you can limit Document type to News, Article, Editorial, or other types, and under Subject, you can choose to include or exclude related subjects.
NOTE: Citations can be copied and pasted into your article and Works Cited page.

Allsides.com
Allsides.com exposes people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. The AllSides Media Bias Chart™ helps you to easily identify different perspectives and political leanings in online news content so you can get the full picture and think for yourself.
AP (Associated Press)
The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
Reuters
Reuters is an international news organization owned by Thomson Reuters. It employs some 2,500 journalists and 600 photojournalists in about 200 locations worldwide. The agency was established in London in 1851 by the German-born Paul Reuter.

SweetSearch: A Search Engine for Students
A search engine for students that emphasizes high quality resources evaluated and approved by educators, librarians and research experts. You can limit to news results by clicking on News and history results by clicking on History.
NOTE: As with a Google search, you can ignore the initial results labelled sponsored.

Allsides.com Media Bias
AllSides empowers you to understand the role media bias plays in the news and information you consume. The AllSides Media Bias Ratings™ and AllSides Media Bias Chart™ help make news bias transparent, allowing you to identify different perspectives and political leanings so you can get the full picture and think for yourself.
Media Bias / Fact Check
An independent website that rates the bias, factual accuracy, and credibility of media sources...MBFC is trusted by major media outlets and IFCN (International Fact-Checking Network) fact-checkers, frequently being referenced by sources such as USA Today, Reuters Fact Check, Science Feedback, Washington Post, and NPR.
Snopes
When misinformation obscures the truth and readers don’t know what to trust, Snopes’ fact-checking and original, investigative reporting lights the way to evidence-based and contextualized analysis. We always document our sources so readers are empowered to do independent research and make up their own minds.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library