NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Winner of the 2010 Dartmouth Medal, this major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice. In addition to providing original analytical articles covering standard subjects such as the right to health and health care, Amnesty International, the Balkan wars, and former President of Ireland Mary Robinson, it offers innovative coverage of such subjects as the Internet, intellectual property rights, the American civil rights movement, globalization, and Brazil in historical context. Focusing primarily on developments since 1945, it offers an unrivaled reference source for students and researchers; even human rights experts are likely to find much original material and keen insights in many of the entries. KEY SUBJECT AREAS INCLUDE: ORGANIZATIONS AND INSTITUTIONS: American Civil Liberties Union, World Health Organization, UNICEF, Carter Center LEADING FIGURES: Adolf Hitler, Steve Biko, Elie Wiesel, Simone de Beauvoir, Joseph Stalin, Eleanor Roosevelt, Pol Pot, Shirin Ebadi, Kim Jong Il HUMAN RIGHTS EVENTS AND CRISES: Darfur, Irish Famine, Soviet Gulag, Central America in the 1980s, Colonialism, Belgian Congo, AIDS HUMAN RIGHTS NORMS: Ethnic Cleansing, Women's Rights, Religious Freedom, Torture: International Law, Disability Rights
Encyclopedia of the United Nations
Political Handbook of the World, 2020-2021
The Political Handbook of the World by Tom Lansford provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information. In addition to country information, it includes information on intergovernental organizations
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
The Statesman's Yearbook 2022
In addition to information on every country of the world, The Statesman's Yearbook provides information on key global and international organizations, and leading think tanks.
The United Nations: : 75 Years of Promoting Peace, Human Rights, and Development by They are based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
Fighting for Human Rights by
In a world that is increasingly disillusioned with formal politics, people are no longer prepared to wait for governments and international institutions to act on human rights concerns. This book identifies activism as a key means of realizing human rights and as a new form of politics. Fighting for Human Rights documents and compares successful high profile campaigns to cancel debt in the developing world, ban landmines and set up the International Criminal Court as well as emerging campaigns that focus on HIV/AIDS, environmental justice, democratization and blood diamonds.
Global Community: : The Role of International Organizations in the Making of the Contemporary World by
The "global community" is a term we take for granted today. But how did the global community, both as an idea and as a reality, originate and develop over time? This book examines this concept by looking at the emergence, growth, and activities of international organizations--both governmental and nongovernmental--from the end of the nineteenth century to today. Akira Iriye, one of this country's most preeminent historians, proposes a significant rereading of the history of the last fifty years, suggesting that the central influence on the international scene in this period was not the Cold War, but rather a deepening web of international interactions. This groundbreaking book, the first systematic study of international organizations by a historian, moves beyond the usual framework for studying international relations--politics, war, diplomacy, and other interstate affairs--as it traces the crucial role played by international organizations in determining the shape of the world today. Iriye's sweeping discussion of international organizations around the world examines multinational corporations, religious organizations, regional communities, transnational private associations, environmental organizations, and other groups to illuminate the evolution and meaning of the global community and global consciousness. While states have been preoccupied with their own national interests such as security and prestige, international organizations have been actively engaged in promoting cultural exchange, offering humanitarian assistance, extending developmental aid, protecting the environment, and championing human rights. In short, they have made important contributions to making the world a more interdependent and peaceful place. This book, tracing the development of the global community in a truly innovative way, will win a wide readership among those interested in understanding the growing phenomenon of globalization and its meaning for us today. Global Community is based on Iriye's Jefferson lectures at the University of California, Berkeley.
International Relations: A Very Short Introduction by 
NGOs: A New History of Transnational Civil Society by
In the first historical account of international NGOs, from the French Revolution to the present, Thomas Davies places the contemporary debate on transnational civil society in context. In contrast to the conventional wisdom, which sees transnational civil society as a recent developmenttaking place along a linear trajectory, he explores the long history of international NGOs in terms of a cyclical process characterized by three major waves: the era to 1914, the inter-war years, and the period since the Second World War.The breadth of transnational civil society activities explored is unprecedented in its diversity, from business associations to humanitarian organizations, peace groups to socialist movements, feminist organizations to pan-nationalist groups. The geographical scope covered is also extensive, and theanalysis is richly supported with reference to a diverse array of previously unexplored sources. By revealing the role of civil society rather than governmental actors in the major trans- formations of the past two-and-a-half centuries, this book is for anyone interested in obtaining a newperspective on world history. The analysis concludes in the second decade of the twenty-first century, providing insights into the trajectory of transnational civil society in the post-9/11 and post-financial crisis eras.
The Oxford Handbook of International Relations by 
The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy by 
The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations by 
The United Nations: A Very Short Introduction by