Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors Topics in the Rise and Fall of the Soviet Union: Images

Images 

Images created at the time of your topic are also primary sources!

 

  • It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator OR owner of the image.
  • The resources below contain media you may freely use in your presentations.

  • PLEASE NOTE: primary sources including images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or other content that is considered offensive today.

 

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

ONLINE IMAGE DATABASES

 

FOR IMAGES
  1. To cite an image from these databases, choose Database.
  2. Choose the source type that most accurately describes your image, such as Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart.

IMAGES IN ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  blovallo@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Soviet Posters

IMAGE WEBSITES

Tip: Search for "Russian Revolution" or "Russian Civil War."
NOTE: Free images must also be cited to give credit to the creator and where you found it.
  1. To cite an image from these databases, choose Website.
  2. Choose the source type that most accurately describes your image, such as Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart.

Find Images Using Google

Google Images 
On your image search results page:
  • Click on Tools.
  • Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Look for this Creative Commons icon
Recommended Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

Citing Images

NOTE: In a slide presentation, an image is cited on the slide upon which it appears rather than in the bibliography at the end of your project.

To cite an Image, choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
  • Website =  a website like Digital Public Library of America or one found through Google Images.
  • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

  • To download an image, right click on the image and choose "Save image as". (On a MacBook, hold down Ctrl and click = right click) 
  • To get the permanent URL of the image for your citation, right click on the image and choose "Copy image address".

To cite an video, choose the option that best describes where you found it and then select Video Clip (Online). 

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti are happy to help!