NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.
Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.
Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
This source contains Primary Sources.
From Wikipedia: Handbook on History of the Communist Party and the Soviet Union 1898–1991 (Russian: Справочник по истории Коммунистической партии и Советского Союза 1898–1991) is a Russophone free access online encyclopedic information on history of the Communist Party of the USSR and its members.
The project is created on the initiative of Nafthali Hirschkowitz (Zikhron Yaakov), a creator and editor of the project. He is assisted by several specialists in a field of history across a vast territory of the former Soviet Union. Among those are experts in a field of historical science and others. The project started in 2005.
Atlas of Russian History
Surveying more than 2,000 years of Russian history, this atlas presents more than 200 maps on an extraordinary range of topics, including examinations of rebellion and exile, famine, the anarchists of Russia, the growth of revolutionary activity before 1917, the Revolution itself, Lenin's return to Russia, the early years of Communism, the Cuban missile crisis, relations with China, trade, and military strength. This Third Edition features new maps charting the collapse of Communism in Eastern Europe, the changing names of Russian cities, the emerging Asian republics, and individuals and institutions of the new Russia.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution
This single volume is an authoritative and accessible guide to the background and progress of the Revolution, written by a team of over forty specialist contributors. Beginning with the radical movements of the mid-nineteenth century, the Encyclopedia covers the development of the revolutionary movement created by the intelligentsia; the condition of the peasants, that of the working class, and of the army; the role of the Tsarist secret police; the 'agents provocateurs'; the revolutionaries' own underground. A substantial section is devoted to the emergence of liberation movements among the national minorities of the borderlands. The Encyclopedia also considers the formation of Soviet institutions, and examines too the emergence of revolutionary culture well before 1917, the avant-garde in art and theatre, and the relationship to the revolution of three major Russian writers, Blok, Gorky and Mayakovsky.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia
This book is an essential reference guide to Russia and the post-Soviet world. Contains comprehensive coverage of geography, peoples, history, politics, international relations, economy, literature and the arts. Thematically arranged to provide a structured introduction to the subject. Fifty-two colour maps and charts. Ready-reference tables, information panels, further reading guides, and glossary.
The Cold War: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection by 
Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations
Everybody spied on everybody else during the Cold War. France had agents in the U.S., China had agents in East Germany, Poland had agents in Great Britain, and the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. had agents everywhere--in governments, in industry, in the military, and within each other's, and their own, intelligence agencies. A-Z entries provide a fascinating glimpse into the subterranean world, events, people and operations of the Cold War. Cold War espionage was a nightmare of errors, seen darkly in a wilderness of mirrors, raining desperate deceptions in a climate of treason, with assassins trading in treachery using hidden hands running invisible governments. As fascinating as it was lethal, this labyrinthian world is still masked in mystery. A good amount is known and knowable, however, and this encyclopedia offers up the latest and most up to date information available, drawn from scholarship, memoirs, and journalism. Everybody spied on everybody else during the Cold War. France had agents in the U.S., China had agents in East Germany, Poland had agents in Great Britain, and the United States and the U.S.S.R. had agents everywhere: in governments, in industry, in the military, and within each other's, and their own, intelligence agencies. A-Z entries provide a fascinating glimpse into the subterranean world, events, people and operations of the Cold War. Close to 300 hundred entries provide vivid summaries of hazardous careers, both long and tragically brief, of betrayal and double-cross, and of diplomatic maneuvering so freighted with deception and cunning it sometimes seems unreal. Every entry concludes with suggested readings, and is thoroughly cross-referenced. A thematic guide quickly directs users to Affairs, Crises, Disasters, Hoaxes and Scandals; Agents of Influence, Spies, Spymasters, and Informants by nationality; Assassins and Assassinations; Covert Operations; Defectors to the East and West; Double Agents, Fictional Agents and Operations; Honeytraps; Spy Exchanges; Victims of Covert Operations; and Women Spies and Agents. It contains an extensive annotated chronology, and is thoroughly indexed. This encyclopedia will be immensely helpful to students and researchers of the seamier side of 20th century world history, Cold War history, and world politics.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism
Encyclopedia of Russian History
A Reference Source citation has 2 parts:
Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.
If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).
To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
next to the database name.Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.
You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).
