These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.
Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.
TO CITE: Choose Database and then Original Content in Database.
This source contains Primary Sources.
Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
A Reference Source citation has 2 parts:
Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.
If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).
To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.
You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).