NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source. Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.
Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.
Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
This source contains Primary Sources.
Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
REMEMBER: Print Reference books are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
American Eras: Primary Sources: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction (1865-1877)
Allows readers to gain new insights into the reconstruction era and the development of the industrial United States. Provides in-depth analysis of over twenty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of this important time in American history. Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction & the Development of the Industrial United States offers in-depth critical analysis of 20 primary source documents. Articles begin by introducing readers to the document's historical context, followed by a description of the author's life and circumstances in which the document was written. A document analysis, written by professional writers and historians, guides readers in understanding key elements of language, rhetoric, and social and political meaning that define the significance of the author and document in American history. Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction & the Development of the Industrial United States provides detailed analysis of a wide array of documents, including: The Second Reconstruction Act Louisiana, Mississippi & Ohio State Black Codes Civil Rights Act of 1875 Ten Years on a Georgia Plantation Since the War Harpers Weekly, "Education of the Freedmen" This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions. Documents represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history.
The Civil War and Reconstruction Eras: Documents Decoded
The carefully selected and edited readings in this book are chronologically arranged so that students can trace the progression of events and understand the thoughts of those living during the critical Civil War and Reconstruction periods. Both the Civil War and Reconstruction were pivotal moments in American history that have shaped race relations, perceptions of national power, and the relations between the national government and the states. Powerful political figures, who were often guided by lofty motives, found themselves caught up in circumstances that were largely beyond their direct control. Issues often proved far more complex than anticipated, and many initial "solutions" that were set in motion more than 130 years ago continue to affect current U.S. politics. This book provides American history students and teachers with a handy reference that examines all important aspects of the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. The author models how an expert scholar interacts with primary sources, thereby providing guidance that shows readers how to pick apart and critically evaluate firsthand the key documents chronicling these major events in American history. The deftly edited readings in this book are presented in chronological order so that students can trace the progression of events and thinking of various individuals during the critical Civil War and Reconstruction periods. Annotations explain key terms and highlight key portions of laws, presidential speeches and orders, Supreme Court decisions, and other sources from the period. Provides readers with annotated primary sources that illuminate the causes of the American Civil War, the attempts to resolve these various points of contention, and the aftermath of that costly conflict Spotlights documents such as Lincoln's first inaugural address, Julia Ward Howe's Battle Hymn of the Republic, the Homestead Act, the Emancipation Proclamation, the Gettysburg Address, and the Reconstruction Acts, among others Demonstrates that issues involving race, the scope of national powers, and relations between state and national governments have long been fundamental to American politics Enables modern readers to comprehend how many current issues have their origins in much earlier periods of U.S. history
To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
next to the database name.Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch, or a search engine such as Google.
Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.
Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing: