Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Gatsby's Roaring Radio Podcast Project
This page has been assembled to give you easy access to the best possible information for your project.
SECONDARY SOURCE eBOOKS
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
You can search for secondary source material about The Great Gatsby across hundreds of ebooks all at the same time in this subscription database. Also includes the reference source Literature and Its Times.NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Individual eBooks not in Gale eBooks
The American Dream (Critical Insights series) by
Deconstruction of the promise of prosperity and success-and often subsequent disillusionment-associated with the American Dream and Experience ""The American Dream"" is a phrase that has become an essential component of the American experience, a phrase that, once entered into the national lexicon, has come to define our nation's identity, underlying nearly every aspect of our lives. And since the birth of the founding document of our nation, the Declaration of Independence, the idea of ""the American Dream"" has become a pervasive and frequently deconstructed theme within the canon of American literature. Critical Insights: The American Dream offers thirteen original essays exploring the contexts and expressions of the dream as it is reflected in our imaginative literature. For readers who are studying it for the first time, a four essays survey the critical conversation regarding the theme, explore its cultural and historical contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key texts in the genre. Readers seeking a deeper understanding of the theme can then move on to other essays that explore it in depth through a variety of critical approaches. Works discussed include The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, Death of a Salesman, The Great Gatsby, Bernard Malamud's The Assistant, Américo Paredes's George Washington Gomez, and Edith Wharton's The House of Mirth, as well as the works of Willa Cather, Cormac McCarthy, Theodore Dreiser, and Michal Gold, among others. Among the contributors are Donna Packer-Kinlaw, Carol S. Loranger, Steven Frye, Roark Mulligan, and Lee Schweninger. Rounding out the volume are a list of literary works not mentioned in the book that concern the theme as well as a bibliography of critical sources for readers seeking to study this timeless theme in greater depth. Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of ""Works Cited,"" along with endnotes. Finally, the volume's appendixes offer a section of useful reference resources: About This Volume Critical Context: Original Introductory Essays Critical Readings: Original In-Depth Essays Further Readings Detailed Bibliography Detailed Bio of the Editor General Subject Index
Call Number: PS169.A49 A48 2013 (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2013
The Jazz Age: a Historical Exploration of Literature by
This intriguing study examines the truth behind the myths and misconceptions that defined the Roaring Twenties, as portrayed through the popular literary works of the time. This one-stop reference to the "Jazz Age"--the period that began after the First World War and ended with the stock market crash of 1929--digs into the cultural, historical, and literary contexts of the era. Author Linda De Roche examines the writing of the time to look beyond the common conceptions of the Roaring Twenties and instead reflect on the era's complexities and contradictions, including how gender and race influenced social mores. The book profiles key American literature of the time, including F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, Ernest Hemingway's The Sun Also Rises, Sinclair Lewis's Babbit, Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, and Nella Larsen's Passing. Filled with essays that offer historical explorations of each work as well as suggested learning activities, chapters also feature study questions, primary source documents, and chronologies. Support materials include activities, lesson plans, discussion questions, topics for further research, and suggested readings. Outlines key events and developments and provides context for the historical period and work Aligns with Common Core standards in English language arts and social studies Discusses five major writers of the Jazz Age Provides numerous suggestions for class activities and further individual exploration Supplies educators with ready reference work that aligns with Common Core Standards in English Language Arts (ELA) in Social Studies Gives readers insight into how literature and other art forms reflect the social conditions and are inspired by events of the time
Call Number: PS223 .D4 2015. (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2015
RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.
A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.
- When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.
Search Library Catalog
SECONDARY SOURCE JOURNAL DATABASES
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Document Type: Article when looking for articles. Refine your results further by using the additional limiters in the left sidebar of your search results page.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains several primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets and over 100,000 ebooks.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Mr. Padgett Presents
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!