Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Remember the Ladies: Women of Consequence in 19th C. U.S. History: NoodleTools

NoodleTools


Noodletools: Login

 

 

You can access NoodleTools directly from your Taft Google Drive.
 
Just click on the TicTacToe-style grid and scroll down - almost to the bottom -
where you'll see the little NoodleTools icon on the right.

 

Citing Reference Sources

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

A Reference Source citation has 2 parts:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole: author / editor, encyclopedia title, name of publisher, place of publication, and date of publication.

Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).

To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • If you cannot export the citation, choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite or Citable Link.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole: author / editor, encyclopedia title, name of publisher, place of publication, and date of publication.
  • Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti are happy to help!

Citing Websites

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from web pages if given. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copies and pasted citation.

 

To cite a source on a website, choose Website.

Remember: a website is an online source you discover through Google (or another search engine) as opposed to a subscription database you access through the library.

  • Websites can contain many kinds of sources including: Reference articles, ebook content, journal articles, primary sources, newspaper articles, speech transcripts, images, etc.
  • If you can determine it, select the source type from the list under Website in NoodleTools.
  • If it's not clear what type of source it is, choose Webpage.

 

If you would like help evaluating a source, see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti.
We're happy to help!

NoodleTools General Tips

NoodleTools will ask - in this order:

1. Where did you find your source?

  • Most likely it will be one of these: Database (like Gale eBooks), Website (an online source you discover through a Google search, for instance), Print or in-hand source (book)

2. What is your source?

  • Most likely, it will be one of these: Journal / Magazine / Newspaper article, Book, Reference Source, Web Page

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

QUESTIONS?

Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti can help!

Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

Print and electronic books can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

To cite a book, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • If you cannot export the citation, choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your ebook. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
    • Enter the name of the website, and publisher if given.
  • Print or In Hand = a print book, such as one found in the library 
    • Choose Book.
    • If published after 1967, look for the ISBN and enter it into NoodleTools.
    • Make sure you have the author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti are happy to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Citing Images and Video

NOTEAn image is cited on the slide upon which it appears rather than in the bibliography at the end of your project.

To cite an Image, choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
  • Website =  a website like Digital Public Library of America or one found through Google Images.
  • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

  • To download an image, right click on the image and choose "Save image as". (On a MacBook, hold down Ctrl and click = right click) 
  • To get the permanent URL of the image for your citation, right click on the image and choose "Copy image address".

To cite an video, choose the option that best describes where you found it and then select Video Clip (Online)

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti are happy to help!