LibGuides: Women in US History: 1800-1850: Reference Sources

PRINT AND ELECTRONIC REFERENCE SOURCES

PLEASE REMEMBER: Print Reference Sources are for use in the LIBRARY ONLY.

Women in American History

Black Women in America
Call Number: Ref E185.86 .B542 2005 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0195156773
Publication Date: 2005
Daily Life of Women: an Encyclopedia from Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ref HQ9 .D324 2021 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781440846922
Publication Date: 2021
NOTE: See vol. 2 for "Nineteenth Century United States and Canada."
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
Call Number: REF HQ1410 .E53 2002 3 vols
ISBN: 0765680386
Publication Date: 2002
Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E443 .E57 2012 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0313349088
Publication Date: 2012
Great Events from History: Women's History
Call Number: REF HQ1121 .G74 2022 2 vols. (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781637000991
Publication Date: 2022
NOTE: While coverage is international, a large number of articles are on events in U.S. women's history.
Great Lives from History: American Women
Call Number: Ref CT3260 .A44 2016 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781619259447
Publication Date: 2016
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .W6468 2017 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1610696026
Publication Date: 2017
To cite a reference article in the ebook, choose Database and Reference Source. On the ebook homepage, click on Cite this eBook to find the URL for the book. Use this URL in your citation. ABC-Clio does not provide permanent links to individual articles.
Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999 17 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 078763736X
Publication Date: 1999
Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People
Call Number: Ref HQ1236.5.U6 W677 2015 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1610692144
Publication Date: 2014
To cite a reference article in the ebook, choose Database and Reference Source. On the ebook homepage, click on Cite this eBook to find the URL for the book. Use this URL in your citation. ABC-Clio does not provide permanent links to individual articles.

In Her Words!

The Quotable Woman
Call Number: Ref PN6081.5 .Q65 2011
ISBN: 0816077258
The Quotable Woman gathers nearly 20,000 great quotations from more than 5,000 women throughout history, beginning with Eve and continuing to the present day.

U.S. History

Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: Ref HN 57 .E58 1992 3 vols
ISBN: 0684192462
Publication Date: 1993
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Call Number: Ref HN57 .E594 2004 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0765680459
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of the American West
Call Number: REF F591 .E485 1996 4 vols
ISBN: 0028974956
Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: Ref E337.5.E626 2001 3 vols
ISBN: 0684804972
Publication Date: 1999
Great Events from History: The 19th Century, 1801-1900
Call Number: Ref D358 .G74 2006 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587652974
Publication Date: 2006
Great Lives from History : African Americans
Call Number: Ref E185.96 .G736 2011 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587657474
Publication Date: 2011

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in African-American history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, and more in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets, including Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600–2000 This link opens in a new window
Thousands of primary source documents and other resources in American women's history. Click on Browse Persons and search for your individual for items relating to her.

Biography Databases

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from America's past written by prominent scholars, supplemented by thousands of illustrations and cross references both within the database and to other select websites.

TO CITE: Choose Database and then Original Content in Database.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Citation Tip

Use the ISBN number to cite your reference book / ebook in NoodleTools!

See more about citing sources on the NoodleTools page of this guide.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Women in US History: 1800-1850: Reference Sources

WELCOME TO YOUR COURSE GUIDE FOR RESEARCHING WOMEN IN AMERICA, 1800-1850

The resources under the tabs above are reliable, trustworthy sources of information provided to you by the library.

Start your research HERE with Reference Sources

These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.

Citing Reference Sources in NoodleTools

PRINT AND ELECTRONIC REFERENCE SOURCES

PLEASE REMEMBER: Print Reference Sources are for use in the LIBRARY ONLY.

Women in American History

In Her Words!

U.S. History

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

Biography Databases

Citation Tip

Use the ISBN number to cite your reference book / ebook in NoodleTools!

See more about citing sources on the NoodleTools page of this guide.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Women in US History: 1800-1850: Reference Sources

WELCOME TO YOUR COURSE GUIDE FOR RESEARCHING WOMEN IN AMERICA, 1800-1850

The resources under the tabs above are reliable, trustworthy sources of information provided to you by the library.

Start your research HERE with Reference Sources

These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.

Citing Reference Sources in NoodleTools

PRINT AND ELECTRONIC REFERENCE SOURCES

PLEASE REMEMBER: Print Reference Sources are for use in the LIBRARY ONLY.

Women in American History

In Her Words!

U.S. History

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

Biography Databases

Citation Tip

Use the ISBN number to cite your reference book / ebook in NoodleTools!

See more about citing sources on the NoodleTools page of this guide.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti