Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator / owner of the image, be it a photographer, an artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution. Use the resources and search strategies below to find images you can freely use in your project.
Please note: primary sources including images and moving pictures are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or other content that is considered offensive today.
Image and Video Databases
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Remember: you may also use images found in the databases on the Reference Sources page of this guide.
Not sure how to cite images or videos?
If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!
See Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
Find Images using Google
It is important to find images with Creative Commons Licenses, which allow reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
Google Images On your search results page, click on Tools -- choose Usage Rights -- choose Creative Commons Licenses.
Google Advanced Image Search On the advanced search page, scroll down to usage rights - choose Creative Commons Licenses.
Flikr: The Commons
"The world’s public photo archives." Images with "no known copyright restrictions" from hundreds of archives, museums, libraries and research centers around the world.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL's database contains over 900,000 items, including prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. LIMIT YOUR SEARCH to Public Domain materials only.
A media repository of over 75 million freely usable items.
Women's History: Library of Congress Digital Collections
This collection includes the papers of Clara Barton, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Mary Church Terrell, and Susan B. Anthony. Also records of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (letters, photographs, broadsides, handbills, and more). CHECK THE "RIGHTS AND ACCESS" notes to determine if an item is available for reuse, for instance, in the public domain.