Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
ONLINE SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Biography
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. To cite an article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/Dvb6KoOU2Yw
FIND IMAGES AND VIDEOS
NOTE: Citations for images / video should appear on the same slide as the image/ video, rather than in your bibliography.
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Classroom Video On Demand
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Images and videos in the Online Subscription Databases in the box above may also be used (and must be cited).
On your image search results page:
- Click on Tools.
- Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
- Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / EBOOKS
The Art Story
TheArtStory.org helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations...TheArtStory.Org now has the equivalent of over 19,000 written pages of art content."
Heilbrun Timeline of Art History: 19th Century
Essays with images on a multitude of artists and topics in 19th century art. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
National Gallery of Art: Artists
Search your artist for a variety of content, including biography, audio/video resources, research and more.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts...The museum addresses the gender imbalance in the presentation of art by bringing to light important women artists of the past while promoting great women artists working today.
Smarthistory: the Center for Public Art History
Smarthistory unlocks the expertise of hundreds of scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.
Create Your MLA Bibliography Using NoodleTools