LibGuides: Honors Humanities: 19th Century European Artists: Home

ONLINE SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books and monographs in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: Introduction to Grove Art Online
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.

FIND IMAGES AND VIDEOS

NOTE: Citations for images / video should appear on the same slide as the image/ video, rather than in your bibliography.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. To cite an image, choose Database. Then choose the source type that most accurately describes your image (for example: Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart).
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Images and videos in the Online Subscription Databases in the box above may also be used (and must be cited).

Search your artist in Google Images.

On your image search results page:

Click on Tools.
Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / EBOOK

The Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref N 31 .D5 1996 34 vols (content also available in the database Grove Art Online)
ISBN: 1884446000
Great Events from History: The 19th Century, 1801-1900
Call Number: Ref D358 .G74 2006 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587652974
Publication Date: 2006
Great Lives From History: The 19th Century, 1801-1900
Call Number: CT119 .G69 2007 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587652929
Publication Date: 2007
Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999 17 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 078763736X
Publication Date: 1999

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using your artist's name and /or the school to which they belong will yield the best results.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

WEBSITES

The Art Story
TheArtStory.org helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations...TheArtStory.Org now has the equivalent of over 19,000 written pages of art content."
Heilbrun Timeline of Art History: 19th Century
Essays with images on a multitude of artists and topics in 19th century art. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
National Gallery of Art: Artists
Search your artist for a variety of content, including biography, audio/video resources, research and more.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts...The museum addresses the gender imbalance in the presentation of art by bringing to light important women artists of the past while promoting great women artists working today.
Smarthistory: the Center for Public Art History
Smarthistory unlocks the expertise of hundreds of scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors Humanities: 19th Century European Artists: Home

ONLINE SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

FIND IMAGES AND VIDEOS

Search your artist in Google Images.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / EBOOK

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using your artist's name and /or the school to which they belong will yield the best results.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.

Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

WEBSITES

Create Your MLA Bibliography Using NoodleTools

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors Humanities: 19th Century European Artists: Home

ONLINE SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

FIND IMAGES AND VIDEOS

Search your artist in Google Images.

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / EBOOK

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using your artist's name and /or the school to which they belong will yield the best results.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.

Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

WEBSITES

Create Your MLA Bibliography Using NoodleTools

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti