LibGuides: Revolutions: Great War / World War I Remote, “Student Choice” Unit: Reference Items

World War I Reference Articles

This box contains links directly to "World War I" main entries from different reference ebooks/databases. After each entry we will also include a link to the main search page of the ebook/database.

World War I
From the World History: The Modern Era . Click on the arrows on the left side of the page to reveal links to both reference articles and primary sources related to World War I.
The Origins of World War I
This four page article from World War I: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection provides a quick and easy overview of the circumstances that lead up to World War I. This article is especially useful for identifying search terms for later use. NOTE: To search from the table of contents page, click on the "+ eBook Search" box on the left hand side.
World War I Timeline
from The Map as History: The first World War, 1914-1918 this timeline helps visually represent the geographic and temporal scale of the conflict.

Reference Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos from the mid-15th century to the present.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts; with reference articles, peer-reviewed essays written by scholars, and thousands of primary and secondary sources.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Internet Reference Source

1914-1918 Online: International Encyclopedia of World War I
An international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. Articles cover the arts and literature, military strategy, women, and much more.

Reference eBooks

World War I: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
This multivolume set is one of the most complete WWI encyclopedias available. The interface can be difficult to use, since it directly mimics the print edition. I suggest navigating to the index, and then using the hyperlinks to individual pages contained there.
World War I Reference Library
For easy access to the contents of the book, click on the "index" link on the front page. Covers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war; weapons of mass destruction; profiles of major figures; and much more.
The Oxford handbook of European history, 1914-1945
The period spanning the two World Wars was unquestionably the most catastrophic in Europe's history. Despite such undeniably progressive developments as the radical expansion of women's suffrage and rising health standards, the era was dominated by political violence and chronic instability. This handbook reconsiders the most significant features of this calamitous age from a transnational perspective. It demonstrates the degree to which national experiences were intertwined with those of other nations, and how each crisis was implicated in wider regional, continental, and global developments.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: Great War / World War I Remote, “Student Choice” Unit: Reference Items

General Search Tip

World War I Reference Articles

Reference Databases

Internet Reference Source

Reference eBooks

NoodleTools General Tips