Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
100 Years 100 Legacies: The Lasting Impact of WWI
100 legacies from World War I that continue to shape our lives today, including politics, countries, armaments, medicine, culture, tactics, and economy. From the Wall Street Journal.
BBC World War One
A vast collection of resources, including original silent film footage restored with color and sound; interviews of those who served and other sound archives, and much more. A in-depth section dedicated to the homefront is especially useful.
The British Library: World War One
Supported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.
FirstWorldWar.com : A multimedia history of World War I
This site contains a surprisingly diverse set of resources. Everything from well written articles to photographs, to maps and audiovisual materials, this site is an excellent resource to flesh out your research.
First World War 1914–18 : The Australian War Memorial
This page contains a helpful synopsis of Australian involvement in World War I. Especially helpful are the links at the bottom of the page, which include articles, photos, audio recordings, and more!
Why First World War soldiers wore khaki
How did the British Army transition from being "Red Coats" to modern coloring? This article explains the origins of "drab" khaki, and how the technological innovations of WWI made it the new uniform color of the battlefield.
World War I : cause and effect [videorecording]
It is called by many names: The Great War, The War to End All Wars, World War I. The conflict that engulfed the world between 1914 and 1918 left an indelible mark on the 20th century and shaped the world in which we live today. In this informative program, you will learn about the tumultuous events that led to World War I, the nations that were drawn into the conflict, the Russian Revolution and the rise of communism, how the submarine and airplane altered the nature of combat and how the peace treaty virtually assured a second world war. (60 minutes)
The Map as History: WWI
This page includes 20 animated maps that help show the breadth of the conflicts that made up Word War I.
Atlas for the Great War
Created and hosted by West Point, this page contains a treasure trove of maps detailing all major events on all fronts of the War (including the Eastern Front, Western Front, and the Middle East). A wonderful way to come to understand the immense complexity of the war.
eBook Only Search
Use this search to find only ebooks that can be accessed via our library catalog.
We have pulled out a few, notable ebooks in this box, but it is only a small part of our total ebook collection that has to do with World War I. To see all of our ebooks with the subject "World War, 1914-1918" (the official subject heading for World War I) please use this link.
Hell in the Holy Land
The author uses graphic eyewitness accounts from the diaries, letters, and memoirs of British soldiers who fought in that war to describe in detail the genuine experience of the fighting and dying in Egypt and Palestine.
World War I and the Age of Modern Warfare
This resource includes not only an excellent overview of the war, but also contains biographies of the major players, primary source materials, and a glossary of terms from the era.
The poisonous cloud: chemical warfare in the First World War
A book noted by reviewers as "the best book ever about chemical warfare during World War I", this book was written by the son of one of the German scientists who developed chemical weapons for battlefield use.
The Fall of the Sultanate : the Great War and the end of the Ottoman Empire 1908-1922
After 600 years of ruling over the peoples of North Africa, the Balkans and Middle East, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire encompassed a series of wars, insurrections, and revolutions spanning the early 20th century, the political, economic, social, and international forces of which are detailed in this study.
Spies in Arabia : the Great War and the cultural foundations of Britain's covert empire in the Middle East
At the start of the 20th century, British intelligence agents began to venture in increasing numbers to the Arab lands of the Ottoman Empire, drawn by the twin objectives of securing the route to India and finding adventure and spiritualism in an antique land. 'Spies in Arabia' tracks the dilemma these two different objectives created.
The Medical War British military medicine in the First World War
'The Medical War' describes the role of medicine in the British Army during the First World War. It argues that medicine played a vital part in the war, helping to sustain the morale of troops and their families, and reducing the wastage of manpower.
The Christmas Truce : myth, memory, and the First World War
The 1914 Christmas truce, when enemy soldiers met, fraternized, and even played football in No Man's Land during the first year of the First World War, is commonly perceived as a manifestation of the anger that soldiers felt toward the meaningless war that they had been tricked into fighting. Contemporaneous sources, however, show that the truce was not an act of defiance; rather, it arose from the professionalism of the soldiers involved, the conditions of static trench warfare, foul weather on the Western Front, the absence of major battles, and memories of traditional celebrations of Christmas. The truce, in short, was caused by rain, mud, curiosity, lack of personal animosity toward the enemy, and homesickness, rather than by frustration and rebellion.