Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors US History: Civil War Podcast Project: Secondary Sources

 

What are secondary sources?

  • Secondary sources are second-hand sources written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles, and books. 

Examples of secondary sources include: 

  • Books (also called monographs) 
  • Scholarly journal articles.

Where can you find secondary sources for your project?

  • Through an eBook Only Search in Rhinocat, our library catalog.
  • In online subscription journal databases, such as JSTOR..

Find eBooks in RhinoCat

eBook Only Search

Use this search to find only ebooks that can be accessed via our library catalog.

You can also browse and search individual ebook databases here. 

Type of search?
eBooks only?

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

For a new citation, click on +New Source.

To cite an ebook, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities E-Book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your book. Look for any of the following on the article page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link. 
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Books/  eBooks can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number). For an ebook, the ISBN appears in the RhinoCat record as well as on the ebook's homepage in the database. For a print book, look for the ISBN in the RhinoCat record and on the back of the title page. It may also be on back cover, usually lower right side. 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!

Find Journal Articles in Online Subscription Databases

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Journal Articles

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

For a new citation, click on +New Source.

To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete or JSTOR. 
  • Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.

Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.

Most likely you found your article in one of the online databases. For your citation you will need: 

  • You must provide the permanent URL for your article. Look for any of the following on the article page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link. 
  • information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
  • information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.

If you have any questions about citing articles, email Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor!