Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Foundations: American Civilizations Rap Battle: Resources

THE MATCHUPS

Moctezuma (aka Montezuma) v. Hernán Cortés

Aztec v. Sparta

Maya v. Han China

Inka (aka Inca) v. Aztec

 

See NoodleTools Citation Tips for Reference Sources and Primary Sources at the bottom of the page.

Online Subscription Databases

Primary Sources on Websites

Asia for Educators: Primary Sources: China (scroll to 1000 BCE-300 BCE for documents from the Han dynastry period; from Asia for Educators, Columbia University)

Internet History Sourcebooks Project (a vast collection of primary source documents from world history curated by Prof. Paul Halsall and hosted by Fordham University's History Department)

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Native American (freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore... Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.)

National Humanities Center Toolbox Library

 

Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

The ancient world: extraordinary people in extraordinary societies. Ref CB311 .A53 2017  4 vols (also an online ebook)    

Early civilizations in the Americas reference library. 2005 .  4 vols (an online ebook) (includes primary sources in vol. 3)

Encyclopedia of modern Asia. Ref DS4 .E53 2002   6 vols (also an online ebook)

World eras: Classical Greek civilization, 800-323 B.C.E  Ref D20 .W67 v.6 (also an online ebook)

Primary Sources in Books on Reserve at the Main Desk

Reserve books MUST BE SIGNED OUT and are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for duration of project.

Aztecs: the rise and fall of an empire / Serge Gruzinski. F1219.73 .G7813 1992   2 copies 

Encounters in the new world: a history in documents / Jill Lepore. E59 .F53 L46 2000   

First encounters: native voices on the coming of the Europeans / ed. by Howard B. Leavitt. GN368 .F57  

Readings in Latin American civilization: 1492 to the present  / ed. by Benjamin Keen.  F1408.3 .K44 [1952]

Sources of Chinese tradition / Compiled by William Theodore de Bary, Wing-tsit Chan, Burton Watson. DS703 .D4   (see Part II: The Imperial Age: Ch'in and Han)

Victors and vanquished: Spanish and Nahua [Aztec] views of the conquest of Mexico / ed. by Stuart B. Schwartz. F1230 .V53 2000 

Voices of ancient Greece and Rome: contemporary accounts of daily life / David Matz. DE59 .V64 2012   

 

 

 

 

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Citing Reference Sources and Primary Sources

To cite a REFERENCE SOURCE, choose the option that best describes where you found your source: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Salem History.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection, such as Encyclopedia of Modern Asia.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form: 

  • information about the article you used. 
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole.

 

To cite a PRIMARY SOURCE, first choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Ancient and Medieval History Online
  • Website = a document found on a website such as the Internet History Sourcebook Project
  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library, such as a book on reserve.

Choose "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source. 

NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!