Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Online Subscription Databases
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. To cite an image, choose Database. Then choose the source type that most accurately describes your image (for example: Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart).
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
Mac users recommended browser: Safari.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Books on Book Truck
In order to ensure equitable availability for both HH classes,
these books may be used in the library only for the duration of the project.
You may photocopy or scan pages that are useful to you. (see Genius Scan box to the right.)
- Botticelli / Giulio Carlo Argan. ND623 B7 A713
- By Her Hand: Artemisia Gentileschi and Women Artists in Italy, 1500-1800 / ed. by Eve Straussman-Pflanzer and Oliver Tostman. NX552 .Z9 G46 2021
- Famous works of Art -- And How They Got That Way / John B. Nici. N72.5 .N53 2015 *Contains Mona Lisa and Birth of Venus
- Invisible Women: Forgotten Artists of Florence / Jane Fortune. ND621 .F7 F67 2010
- Italian Women Artists: from the Renaissance to Baroque / Vera Fortunati Pietrantonio et al. N6915 .I785 2007
- Leonardo / Walter Isaacson. N6923.L33 I827 2017
- Leonardo and The Last Supper / Ross King. ND623 .L5 K564
- Michelangelo: a Life in Six Masterpieces / Miles Unger. N6923 .B9 U54 2014
- Michelangelo & the Pope's Ceiling / Ross King. ND623 .B9 K55 2003
- Painters of the Renaissance / ed. by Kathleen Kuiper. ND170 .P35 2013
- Plautilla Nelli, 1523-1588: the Painter-prioress of Renaissance Florence / ed. by Jonathan K. Nelson. ND623 .N43 P53 2008
- The Private Life of a Masterpiece / Monica Bohm-Duchen. N72.5 .B64 2001 *Contains Mona Lisa
- Raphael, 1483-1520 / Christof Thoenes. ND 6223 .R2 T47 2017
- Sofonisba's Lesson: a Renaissance Artist and Her Work / Michael W. Cole. ND623.A5395 C65 2019
- What Makes a Masterpiece: Artists, Writers, and Curators on the World's Greatest Works of Art / Christopher Dell. N72.5 .W43 2010 *Contains Mona Lisa, Birth of Venus, Sistine Chapel, and School of Athens.
The following Reference books are also on the book truck:
Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks
'Where Are The Women?': Uncovering The Lost Works Of Female Renaissance Artists
In this story, Sylvia Poggioli, senior European correspondent for NPR's International Desk, talks about the foundation, Advancing Women Artists, highlighting several works discovered and restored by the foundation, including "The Last Supper" by Plautilla Nelli.
The Art Story
TheArtStory.org helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations...TheArtStory.Org now has the equivalent of over 19,000 written pages of art content."
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources
A freely available resource, this site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art. Included is an excerpt from Giorgio Vasari in which he remarks on Sofonisba Anguissola and other female artists.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts...The museum addresses the gender imbalance in the presentation of art by bringing to light important women artists of the past while promoting great women artists working today.
Obelisk: a New History of Art
Obelisk shares the stories of artists from more than 100 countries with a focus on womxn, non-western and queer artists. Go to the menu on the upper left of homepage and select Artists.
Smarthistory: the Center for Public Art History
Smarthistory unlocks the expertise of hundreds of scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.
Scan pages from books and other print sources
including title page and back side of title page
and email the PDF to your Taft email
Get it from the App Store
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!