LibGuides: Race and Gender in Hollywood Film: Film of Choice Project: Home

Books on Reserve

These books may be signed out for USE IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for the duration of the assignment:

America on Film: representing race, class, gender, and sexuality at the movies / Harry M. Benshoff and Sean Griffin. PN1995.9 .M56 B46 2009
The Routledge companion to cinema and gender / Ed. by Kristin Lene Hole et al. PN1995.9 .S47 R68 2017
Understanding movies / Louis Giannetti. PN1994 .G47 2018

Reference Books / eBooks

Cinema studies : the key concepts. Ref PN1993.45 .H36 2013
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America. Ref HQ76.3 .U5 E53 2004 3 vols (also an online ebook)
Encyclopedia of sex and gender. Ref HQ16 .E52 2016 4 vols
Girlhood in America: an encyclopedia. Ref HQ777 .G5745 2001 2 vols
Movies in American history. 2011 3 vols (an online ebook)
Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history. Ref HQ1121 .O93 2008 4 vols (also an online ebook)
Race and racism in the United States. Ref E184 .A1 R254 2014 4 vols
Race in American film: voices and visions that shaped a nation. Ref PN1995.9 .N4 R33 2017 3 vols (also an online ebook)
Schirmer encyclopedia of film. Ref PN1993.45 .G65 2007 4 vols (also an online ebook)
NOTE: Specific ethnicities can be found in Ref E184 - E185.97 (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic American, Muslim-American)

NoodleTools

Noodletools Login

NoodleTools Help Desk

Websites

FILM REVIEWS

OTHER RELEVANT SITES

Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film (Dedicated to producing extensive and timely research, studies generated by the Center provide the foundation for a realistic and meaningful discussion of women’s on-screen representation and behind-the-scenes employment.)
Hollywood Diversity Report 2019 (from UCLA)
Minorities in Media in the U.S.: Statistics (Amy Watson, author; published 11/19/2018; from Dell Statistica, a data analysis company
New Tool Quantifies Power Imbalance Between Female and Male Characters in Hollywood Movie Scripts (Jennifer Langston, author; published 11/13/2017, Univ. of Washington)
What Hollywood Movies Do to Perpetuate Racial Stereotypes: Data Analysis (Kira Schact, author; published 2/21/2019)
Women and Hollywood (An initiative and website that educates, advocates, and agitates for gender diversity and inclusion in Hollywood and the global film industry.)

Taft Subscription Databases

To find reviews and articles about your movie in Taft Subscription Databases:

Enter your movie's title in quotation marks, for example, "The Shape of Water", in the first search field.
In the next search field, enter the director's last name.
Limit to Full Text.
Choose Document type: Film Review or Movie Review and also Article.
Using relevant search terms, you can also search for articles about race and gender in film generally. Remember to limit to Full Text.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database with access to thousands of journals, including many in full text.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, videos, and more, Global Issues provides information on topics of current concern.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1980-Current This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the New York Times.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Race and Gender in Hollywood Film: Film of Choice Project: Home

Purdue OWL