Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
With your GLI partner you will create a 10 source minimum annotated bibliography in order to build your level of expertise about a topic of global concern.
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources with accompanying information that describes, explains, and / or evaluates each source in terms of quality, authority, and relevance. Your bibliography may include a variety of sources including books, documents, videos, articles from newspapers and journals, websites, etc. Annotations may vary in length from several sentences to several pages depending on the source.
You will use the MLA (Modern Language Association) format handout to create your bibliographic citations.
Click here for examples of annotated bibliographies. Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Gale In Context: Global Issues Database
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Global Issues is cross-searchable with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
More Online Subscription Databases
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides full text access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines.
Access World News
Full-text current and archived articles from thousands of U.S. and international news sources from 172 countries on six continents. Search or browse by topic. See also Special Reports and Hot Topics.
The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, plus primary sources, ebook content, images and video, journal articles, and recommended websites. To cite, choose Database and E-publication (Born digital).
Classroom Video On Demand
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines.
Access hundreds of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources across all subject areas. Search the entire database or browse by topic collections.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more covering today's hottest social issues, current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues.
Sirs Issues Researcher
A general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues.
RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, DVDs, and other library materials. A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.
TIP: When you identify a book in RhinoCat that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record, scroll down and click on Browse shelf to find more potential books for your project.
Wikipedia's general disclaimer: "Wikipedia cannot guarantee the validity of the information found here. The content of any given article may recently have been changed, vandalized or altered by someone whose opinion does not correspond with the state of knowledge in the relevant fields."
Britannica Academic Articles include links to recommended websites.
SweetSearch, A Search Engine for Students searches only credible websites approved by research experts. (Note: Ignore first group of results labeled Ad)
Limit your search to reliable domains by including the phrase site:gov OR site:edu (gov for U.S. government agencies and edu for educational institutions in the U.S.)
For more information on finding high quality, reliable websites, see Find and Evaluate Websites.