LibGuides: Just for Kids!: Home

Resources A-Z

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
An all-in-one reference library, this includes the complete encyclopedia plus related articles, videos, and websites, as well as a dictionary, thesaurus and world atlas. An excellent resource for middle school students.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Need images for a school project? ImageQuest contains millions of images which are rights-cleared for educational use.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips, and result lists can be refined by grade levels 3-5 and 6-8.
Explora for Middle Schools This link opens in a new window
Using the graphical interface designed especially for middle school libraries, students can find full-text articles from thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers, along with images, videos, and primary sources.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Explora for Elementary Schools This link opens in a new window
Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The ONLY thing

that you absolutely have to know

is the location of the library.

Albert Einstein

Visit our Youth Collection on the Main Floor!

We have picture books, kids graphic novels, easy readers, and much more!

Click here to search RhinoCat,

our library catalog!

Every year the

ASSOCIATION FOR LIBRARY SERVICE TO CHILDREN

identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and digital media.

Find current and past notable lists of books, recordings, and digital media here.

Raising an Inclusive Generation

Tools to Raise an Anti-Racist Generation

An Evolving Collection of Resources, Expert Tips, Books, Videos, and Advocacy Tools

From DoingGoodTogether.org

Parenting for Social Justice/Anti-Racist/Feminist Parenting Books

From Charisbooksandmore.com

"...Charis Books and More fosters sustainable feminist communities, works for social justice, and encourages the expression of diverse and marginalized voices."

From The New York Times

14 Antiracist Books for Kids and Teens

Recommended by BIPOC Teachers and Librarians (Nov. 16, 2020)

15 LGBTQ Books for Kids and Teens

Recommended by Queer Librarians, Educators, and Independent Booksellers (June 1, 2023)

Resources A-Z (continued)

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
The ultimate resource for a report on a famous person, this contains over 600,000 biographies from the ancient world to the present. Look for "Biographies" in the gray menu bar below the lead article on your person. Valuable for even the youngest researchers, although they may need a little assistance from Mom or Dad.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
For our youngest researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, GIC: Elementary features a colorful, visually appealing graphical interface. "The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more." KI also contains lots of images, maps, charts, and tables. And Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary too!
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Features the entire magazine archive 1888 - present.

"When in doubt, go to the library."

J.K. Rowling, HARRY POTTER & THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS

Common Sense Media

CSM offers the largest, most trusted library of independent age-based ratings and reviews of movies, TV shows, books, and more so parents can feel good about the entertainment choices they make for their kids.

Kid-Friendly Resources from the Internet Archive

Kid-Friendly

The Internet Archive provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications & games, music, movies & videos, moving images, and millions of books.

The Kid-Friendly page is arranged by broad topics, including Racial Equality Books for Kids.

ResearchIT CT

Additional resources provided by the CT State Library

Popular Magazines for Primary and Elementary School Age Children.
Popular Magazines for Middle School Age Children.
ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Elementary Schools searches simultaneously encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and magazines considered to be most useful to elementary school students in Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.
ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Middle Schools searches across multiple databases considered to be most useful to middle school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Just for Kids!: Home

These online resources for children in grades K - 8 (and parents too!)

are provided by

The Taft School Library or the Connecticut State Library (and several from the internet too!)

Please Note: If you are off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Taft network username and password.

Resources A-Z

The ONLY thing

that you absolutely have to know

is the location of the library.

Albert Einstein

Visit our Youth Collection on the Main Floor!

We have picture books, kids graphic novels, easy readers, and much more!

Click here to search RhinoCat,

our library catalog!

Every year the

ASSOCIATION FOR LIBRARY SERVICE TO CHILDREN

identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and digital media.

Find current and past notable lists of books, recordings, and digital media here.

Raising an Inclusive Generation

Tools to Raise an Anti-Racist Generation

An Evolving Collection of Resources, Expert Tips, Books, Videos, and Advocacy Tools

Parenting for Social Justice/Anti-Racist/Feminist Parenting Books

"...Charis Books and More fosters sustainable feminist communities, works for social justice, and encourages the expression of diverse and marginalized voices."

From The New York Times

14 Antiracist Books for Kids and Teens

15 LGBTQ Books for Kids and Teens

Resources A-Z (continued)

"When in doubt, go to the library."

J.K. Rowling, HARRY POTTER & THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS

Common Sense Media

Common Sense Media

Kid-Friendly Resources from the Internet Archive

Kid-Friendly

ResearchIT CT

Additional resources provided by the CT State Library

Popular Magazines for Primary and Elementary School Age Children.

Popular Magazines for Middle School Age Children.

ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Elementary Schools searches simultaneously encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and magazines considered to be most useful to elementary school students in Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.

ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Middle Schools searches across multiple databases considered to be most useful to middle school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.