Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Senior Research and Composition: Biographical Research Project: Home

NoodleTools General Tips

Ready to cite your source? 

NoodleTools will ask:

1. Where did you find your source?

  • Most likely it will be one of these:
    • Database 
    • Website
    • Print or in-hand

2. What is your source?

  • Most likely, it will be one of these:
    • Journal
    • Magazine
    • Newspaper
    • Book
    • Reference Source
    • Web Page

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste citations from electronic sources. 

NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

Not sure? 

Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti can help!

 

YOUR ASSIGNMENT

A researched, thesis-based essay on a historical figure of your choice from between the start of the French Revolution (1789) and the Watergate Crisis (1974). The thesis should answer a central question inspired by your research.

Length: 3-5 pages

General Search Tips for Online Subscription Databases

  • Limit results to Full Text.
    • Make sure that all the results are items you can access by limiting results to Full Text results only. Databases often include a mix of full text items and abstracts/synopses of items. Selecting Full Text helps prevent frustration.

  • Look for search terms in article titles
    • ​Database searches generally default to keyword. Using the drop-down list to the right of the search bar, look for titledocument title, or comparable term such as newspaper Headline.

  • Use Filters.
    • Look for filters / limiters on your results page, such as Subject and Source types. This will help ensure you get only the results that you want and will make sure you don't have to wade through as many results.

    • Look especially for:

      • Source types: xxxxxxx

      • Lexile levels of about xxxxxxx.

  • Use AND / OR operators (also known as Boolean operators).
    • Use AND in your search when there are words that all need to be in your search results.

    • Use OR when there are two words that can be used interchangeably, but at least one of them needs to be present in your results.

    • Use NOT when you want to exclude a word from your search.

    • Examples:
      • Muhammad Ali OR Cassius Clay (All articles about Muhammad Ali, including those before he changed his name from Cassius Clay to Muhammad Ali.)

      • Muhammad Ali OR Cassius Clay AND Vietnam (Articles about Ali and his Vietnam protest activity)

      • Muhammad Ali OR Cassius Clay NOT Vietnam (Articles about Ali not relating to his Vietnam protest activity)

 
Boolean Operators Illustrated: Venn Diagram

The History Essay: a Research Guide

A useful step-by-step guide written by Mr. Greg Hawes (2005)

Sample Chicago Style Paper

This resource from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) shows a sample paper in the Notes and Bibliography format of the Chicago Manual of Style, 17thedition

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!