LibGuides: Current Events: Country Research Project: Resources

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Get the latest news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Explora for High Schools This link opens in a new window
An Ebsco research database designed especially for high school students, rich in graphics with easy-to-browse categories.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Includes full-text Consumer Reports 1991 to present.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Features the entire magazine archive 1888 - present.

Search Tip: Limit your search to more reliable domains by using the phrase AND site:edu OR site:gov OR site:int (edu for educational institutions in the U.S.; gov for U.S. government agencies; int for organizations established by international treaties between or among national governments)

Sweetsearch returns only credible websites approved by research experts. Note: Disregard Advertisements that may appear at the top of your search result list.

From Wikipedia:

Model UN Research Resources
This is an excellent place to start finding information about your country and the UN.
United Nations Global Issues
While conflict resolution and peacekeeping continue to be among its most visible efforts, the UN, along with its specialized agencies, is also engaged in a wide array of activities to improve people’s lives around the world – from disaster relief, through education and advancement of women, to peaceful uses of atomic energy. This website offers an overview of some of these issues, and links to other resources, where you can get additional information.
UN States on the Record
This site has basic data about UN participation for each member country.
UN Roll of Honor (Dues statements)
Has your country paid its UN dues? This is the best place to find out.

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook has country profiles from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Global Insights By Country
From Global Edge, a project of Broad School of Business, Michigan State Unversity.
Amnesty International: Countries
Includes reports on human rights practices by country, including issues stemming from unresolved conflicts.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch defends the rights of people in 100 countries worldwide, spotlighting abuses and bringing perpetrators to justice.
National Geographic Country Guides
Travel guides from National Geographic.
NationsOnline.org
Award-winning site for country information.
U.S. Department of State: Countries and Areas
The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.
United Nations Country Data
Includes statistical tables, country (area) and regional profiles including, but not limited to: population, education, trade, science and technology, tourism, and many other categories.
World-Newspapers.com
Provides links to newspapers around the world published in English and available for free online.
World Culture Encyclopedia
World Health Organization
Use the drop-down under Countries to select your country.