LibGuides: Human Geography: Bending the Arc: Home

Country Profiles / Information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Where We Work
CDC’s Division of Global HIV & TB works hand-in-hand with local government partners, community groups, and other public health organizations to align HIV and TB efforts and accelerate progress against these epidemics worldwide. By supporting countries to save lives and control the HIV and TB epidemics, CDC helps to protect the health and well-being of those living in the U.S. and abroad.
CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook has country profiles from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Get the latest news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.

United Nations Country Data
Includes statistical tables, country (area) and regional profiles including, but not limited to: population, education, trade, science and technology, tourism, and many other categories.
World Health Organization
Use the drop-down under Countries to select your country.
World Health Organization: Data
This service of the World Health Organization provides current health data for multiple countries in easy to digest, graphical formats.

Helpful Websites

Partners in Health
Partners in Health's mission is to provide a preferential option for the poor in health care. By establishing long-term relationships with sister organizations based in settings of poverty, Partners In Health strives to achieve two overarching goals: to bring the benefits of modern medical science to those most in need of them and to serve as an antidote to despair.

Useful Databases

Suggestion: For information specifically on what Partners in Health has done, search for "Partners in Health" (in quotations) and then for the country or countries you are interested in. For spanish speaking countries, you may need to try "Socios En Salud" instead of "Partners in Health".

For public health information in general, search for "public health" and your country name.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, such as The Economist (Jan 4, 1992 - present), The Economist (Online) (Sept 26, 2008 - present), Wall Street Journal (Jan. 2, 1984 - present) and the Wall Street Journal (Online) (2010-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Find articles organized by eras in U.S. History in the companion database America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-2000. TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools. For a list of suggested topics, click here.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information from more than 2000 international sources..
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Human Geography: Bending the Arc: Home

Country Profiles / Information

Helpful Websites

Useful Databases