LibGuides: History of New York City: NYC in the 1970s: Home

Reference and Biographical Sources

The Encyclopedia of New York City by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor); Nancy Flood (Editor); Lisa Keller (Editor)
Call Number: REF F128.3 .E75 2010
ISBN: 9780300114652
Publication Date: 2010

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from America's past written by prominent scholars, supplemented by thousands of illustrations and cross references both within the database and to other select websites.

TO CITE: Choose Database and then Original Content in Database.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Historical Newspapers

Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Always limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic.
Try searching terms, phrases, etc. that were commonly used at the time in relation to your topic.
Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc

Newspapers

New York Times: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of The New York Times published from its first issue on Sept.18,1851.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. SEARCH TIP: On your search results page, scroll down left sidebar to Source Location and select New York and New Jersey.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 270 historically significant African-American newspapers from across the U.S. TIPS:Choose Advanced Search; change Sort to BEST.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of New York Post. SEARCH TIP: Using advanced search, enter "New York Post" and change search field to Source

Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of the ultimate index of popular, general-interest periodicals in all disciplines published in the U.S. from 1890 to 1982. Tip: Check the box "Also available at Taft" in the bottom right corner of the advanced search page.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE
- To ensure equitable access, these books may be used IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
- You may scan pages using your smartphone - Don't forget to scan the title page and back of the title page too!
  - See Genius Scan info below.
During class time, these books will be freely available on the book truck.
- They do not need to be signed out.
- Please return the books you use to the book truck before leaving the library at the end of class.
Outside of class time, the book truck will be behind the Circulation Desk
- You may sign books out to use in the library only.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

Welcome to Fear City

Welcome to Fear City: A Survival Guide for Visitors to the City of New York
The pamphlet "Welcome to Fear City" was created by the Council for Public Safety, a group of NYPD, FDNY and other city employees reacting to an announcement by Mayor Beame that the city was considering laying off 10,000 uniformed officers. The Council for Public Safety hoped to make NYC seem so terrifying that the thought of laying off police and firefighters would be unbearable: "to "solve" his budget problems, Mayor Beame is going to discharge substantial numbers of firefighters and law enforcement officer of all kinds. By the time you read this, the number of public safety personnel available to protect residents and visitors may have already been still further reduced... Until things change, stay away from New York City if you possibly can.”

Village Voice alternative newspaper

Village Voice Archives
The Village Voice is an American news and culture paper, known for being the country's first alternative newsweekly. Founded in 1955 by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, John Wilcock, and Norman Mailer, the Voice began as a platform for the creative community of New York City. It ceased publication in 2017, but resumed as a quarterly in 2021.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Websites

CBS News: Biggest New York Events Of The 1970s
1970s New York was a city of infinite contrast as well as unending possibility. Grimy, graffiti-marred subway cars rumbled under litter-strewn neighborhoods where unemployment rates reached epic proportions and crime was at an all-time high. The newly-burgeoning disco scene set the city ablaze with celebrity-studded parties held behind velvet ropes and out of reach for most New Yorkers... New York was on the cusp of change, but in which direction it would go, no one could predict.
Landmark Institutions That Tell The Story Of 1970s New York
A defining decade in New York City, the 1970s cultivated numerous iconic movies, bands, and cultural icons. While the 70s are long gone, they’re not forgotten – fans continue to pay pilgrimage to once-famous venues, many of which are largely unrecognizable today. Embark on a visual journey to these NYC locations that live on through film, music, and pop culture.
Rare Historical Photos: 1970s New York
These street photographs taken by Camilo José Vergara, document the gritty neighborhoods of the South Bronx and Lower East Side during a period of economic stagnation, poverty, and urban decay.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

History of New York City: NYC in the 1970s: Home

New York City During the 1970s

Investigate your topic's impact on the city in the 1970s.

Explore the birth and development of your topic.

Examine how NYC, in turn, influenced it.

This guide contains reliable, trustworthy resources you can access on and off campus.

Reference and Biographical Sources

Historical Newspapers

Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Newspapers

Journals

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Welcome to Fear City

Village Voice alternative newspaper

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Websites

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

History of New York City: NYC in the 1970s: Home

New York City During the 1970s

Investigate your topic's impact on the city in the 1970s.

Explore the birth and development of your topic.

Examine how NYC, in turn, influenced it.

This guide contains reliable, trustworthy resources you can access on and off campus.

Reference and Biographical Sources

Historical Newspapers

Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Newspapers

Journals

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Welcome to Fear City

Village Voice alternative newspaper

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Websites

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti