NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
Our electronic resources are available to you both on and off campus.
Encyclopedia of Latin America
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Encyclopedia of U. S. Foreign Relations
Latin America (World Today Series)
Literature and its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them
A Brief History of Central America by
Central America is a tiny region, broken into seven even smaller nations. More than 5 million North Americans visit these countries every year, exploring Mayan ruins in Guatemala and Belize, discovering the rain forests of Nicaragua and Costa Rica, snorkeling in Honduras, and cruising through the Panama Canal. A Brief History of Central America, Second Edition explores the history of the Central American isthmus from the pre-Columbian cultures to the contemporary nations that make up the region today: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. This second edition brings the history of the region up to date with new developments, including the continued struggle in the aftermath of the civil wars, the impact of the free trade agreement signed with the United States, and recent elections.
The Cambridge History of Latin America, Vol. VIII: Latin America Since the 1930s: Spanish South America. by
This volume consists of the separate histories of the countries of Spanish South America. Part One covers in depth the history of Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. Part Two is devoted to Chile. Part Three covers Peru and Bolivia. The fourth and final section is devoted to Colombia, Ecuador and Venezuela.
Central America and United States Policies, 1820s-1980s: a Guide to Issues and References by 
Central America's Forgotten History: Revolution, vViolence, and the Roots of Migration by
Restores the region's fraught history of repression and resistance to popular consciousness and connects the United States' interventions and influence to the influx of refugees seeking asylum today. At the center of the current immigration debate are migrants from Central America fleeing poverty, corruption, and violence in search of refuge in the United States. In Central America's Forgotten History, Aviva Chomsky answers the urgent question "How did we get here?" Centering the centuries-long intertwined histories of US expansion and Indigenous and Central American struggles against inequality and oppression, Chomsky highlights the pernicious cycle of colonial and neocolonial development policies that promote cultures of violence and forgetting without any accountability or restorative reparations. Focusing on the valiant struggles for social and economic justice in Guatemala, Nicaragua, El Salvador, and Honduras, Chomsky restores these vivid and gripping events to popular consciousness. Tracing the roots of displacement and migration in Central America to the Spanish conquest and bringing us to the present day, she concludes that the more immediate roots of migration from El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras lie in the wars and in the US interventions of the 1980s and the peace accords of the 1990s that set the stage for neoliberalism in Central America. Chomsky also examines how and why histories and memories are suppressed, and the impact of losing historical memory. Only by erasing history can we claim that Central American countries created their own poverty and violence, while the United States' enjoyment and profit from their bananas, coffee, mining, clothing, and export of arms are simply unrelated curiosities.
Inevitable Revolutions: The United States in Central America by
This book explains the history of US/Central American relations, explaining why these countries have remained so overpopulated, illiterate and violent; and why US government notions of economic and military security combine to keep in place a system of Central American dependency. This second edition is updated to include new material covering the Reagan and Bush years, and the Iran/Contra affair.
Inside Central America: Its People, Politics, and History by 
The Last Colonial Massacre by
After decades of bloodshed and political terror, many lament the rise of the left in Latin America. Since the triumph of Castro, politicians and historians have accused the left there of rejecting democracy, embracing communist totalitarianism, and prompting both revolutionary violence and a right-wing backlash. Through unprecedented archival research and gripping personal testimonies, Greg Grandin powerfully challenges these views in this classic work. In doing so, he uncovers the hidden history of the Latin American Cold War: of hidebound reactionaries holding on to their power and privile≥ of Mayan Marxists blending indigenous notions of justice with universal ideas of equality; and of a United States supporting new styles of state terror throughout the region. With Guatemala as his case study, Grandin argues that the Latin American Cold War was a struggle not between political liberalism and Soviet communism but two visions of democracy--one vibrant and egalitarian, the other tepid and unequal--and that the conflict's main effect was to eliminate homegrown notions of social democracy. Updated with a new preface by the author and an interview with Naomi Klein, The Last Colonial Massacre is history of the highest order--a work that will dramatically recast our understanding of Latin American politics and the role of the United States in the Cold War and beyond. "This work admirably explains the process in which hopes of democracy were brutally repressed in Guatemala and its people experienced a civil war lasting for half a century."--International History Review "A richly detailed, humane, and passionately subversive portrait of inspiring reformers tragically redefined by the Cold War as enemies of the state."--Journal of American History
Modern Latin America by
Now thoroughly updated in its eighth edition, Modern Latin America is a lively interpretive history that covers the continent from 1880 to the present, with a preliminary chapter providing context for the region back to 1492. Organized by country/region case studies, rather thanchronologically, students are guided through the major countries of Latin America, with central themes including European-New World interaction, racial mixtures, military takeovers, and U.S. intervention in the area.
Russia: A Country Study by
Understand a particular foreign country through dynamic descriptions and analyses of its historical, social, environmental, economic, governmental, political, and national security systems and institutions. Particular attention is devoted to the people who make up the society, their origins, beliefs, interests, and their attitudes towards their social system and political order. Each study is written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists. This series is a recognized standard in the field.
Talons of the Eagle: Latin America, the United States, and the World by
Timely and topical, Talons of the Eagle: Latin America, the United States, and the World, Fourth Edition, presents an eminent scholar's perspective on the interaction between global trends and inter-American affairs - a subject that has become crucially important in our recent history. Ratherthan concentrating solely on U.S. policy, Peter H. Smith uniquely addresses the structural relationships between the two regions by focusing on international systems, the distribution of power, and the perception and pursuit of national interests. Throughout, this provocative text casts light onsuch contemporary issues as economic integration, drug trafficking, undocumented migration, and the rise of Latin America's "new left." It also analyzes Latin American reactions and responses to the U.S. - and to the rest of the world - in these complex and troubling times.
Twentieth-Century Latin American Revolutions by
Revolutions are a commonly studied but only vaguely understood historical phenomenon. This clear and concise text extends our understanding with a critical narrative analysis of key case studies: the 1910-1920 Mexican Revolution; the 1944-1954 Guatemalan Spring; the 1952-1964 MNR-led revolution in Bolivia; the Cuban Revolution that triumphed in 1959; the 1970-1973 Chilean path to socialism; the leftist Sandinistas in Nicaragua in power from 1979-1990; failed guerrilla movements in Colombia, El Salvador, and Peru; and the Bolivarian Revolution in Venezuela after Hugo Ch vez's election in 1998. Historian Marc Becker opens with a theoretical introduction to revolutionary movements, including a definition of what "revolution" means and an examination of factors necessary for a revolution to succeed. He analyzes revolutions through the lens of those who participated and explores the sociopolitical conditions that led to a revolutionary situation, the differing responses to those conditions, and the outcomes of those political changes. Each case study provides an interpretive explanation of the historical context in which each movement emerged, its main goals and achievements, its shortcomings, its outcome, and its legacy. The book concludes with an analysis of how elected leftist governments in the twenty-first century continue to struggle with issues that revolutionaries confronted throughout the twentieth century.
