LibGuides: Latin Project Resources: Reference Sources

Start your research using Reference Sources such as Encyclopedias.

Make note of terms, also called keywords, relevant to your activist's life and work:
- Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases.

Wikipedia can be useful, BUT...

Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on eight ancient and medieval civilizations.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of reference articles, primary, and secondary sources, and original scholarly essays from prominent historians provides insight into the social history of societies from prehistory to the 21st-century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Covers from antiquity to the 16th century and around the globe from the Islamic world to the Americas; with reference articles, peer-reviewed essays written by scholars, and thousands of primary and secondary sources.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The Ancient World: Extraordinary People in Extraordinary Societies
Call Number: Ref CB311 .A53 2017 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1682171892
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome
Call Number: Ref DG270 .B86 2012 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780816082179
Publication Date: 2012
Great Events From History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 C.E.
Call Number: Ref D65 .G74 2004 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1587651556
Publication Date: 2004
Great Lives From History: The Ancient World, Prehistory to 476 C.E.
Call Number: Ref CT113 .G745 2004 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1587651521
Publication Date: 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: Ref DE5 .O95 2010 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0195170725
Publication Date: 2009

Reference on the Internet

World History Encyclopedia
Award-winning internet history encyclopedia recommended by Oxford University, Common Sense Education, School Library Journal, MERLOT, and Univeristy of Wisconsin-Madison.