LibGuides: Honors Topics in Caribbean History: Final Project: Library Resources

ONLINE DATABASES WITH BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON YOUR COUNTRY

These sources provide essential background information - facts like who, what, when, where, why, and how - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.

American History
Includes background reference articles, primary sources, current news articles, images, and more.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: World History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Modern World History
Includes background reference articles, primary sources, current news articles, images, and more.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

ONLINE DATABASES WITH CURRENT COUNTRY INFORMATION

CountryWatch
Get the latest news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Includes country information; news; websites linking to country constitutions, government sites and non-governmental organization profiles; viewpoint articles; statistics; and more on countries and contemporary world issues.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

NEWSPAPER DATABASES

SEARCH TIP: Search your country in article headlines or lead/first paragraphs and limit date range to the time period you're researching.

Access World News -- Historical and Current
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present)
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF DT31 .A43 2008 3 vols
ISBN: 1851094415
Publication Date: 2008
Cuba
Call Number: REF F1758 .C9485 2012. 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780684316819
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Cuba
Call Number: REF F1754 .E53 2003. 2 vols
ISBN: 1573565725
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Latin America
Call Number: Ref F1406 .E5155 2010 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780816073597
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: (online ebook only)
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900
Call Number: Ref D210 .E53 2018 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1610692551
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Call Number: Ref JV 22 .E535 2007 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0028658434
Publication Date: 2006

Latin America, 2022-23 (World Today series)

Latin America (World Today Series)
Call Number: REF F1401 .L3252 2022/23
Publication Date: 2022
This annual publication offers an unusually penetrating look into every nation – its geographical setting, history, current government, politics, cultures, economic problems and prospects. Focuses on important, current happenings and discussions of why they occurred and their implications for the future.
NOTE: Previous year's edition available in the Main Collection.

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Caribbean Islands: A Country Study

Caribbean Islands: A Country Study (1987)
Sandra W. Meditz and Dennis M. Hanratty, Editors.
This book in the Country Study series offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, and foreign policy.

This series of 80 books was previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998.

Some Caribbean countries may have their own volume in the series (for example, Haiti and the Dominican Republic).

Find the complete list of Country Studies on the internet here.
Note: Cite a book in the Country Studies series as a book on a website.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors Topics in Caribbean History: Final Project: Library Resources

ONLINE DATABASES WITH BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON YOUR COUNTRY

ONLINE DATABASES WITH CURRENT COUNTRY INFORMATION

NEWSPAPER DATABASES

SEARCH TIP: Search your country in article headlines or lead/first paragraphs and limit date range to the time period you're researching.

Latin America, 2022-23 (World Today series)

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Caribbean Islands: A Country Study

Some Caribbean countries may have their own volume in the series (for example, Haiti and the Dominican Republic).

Find the complete list of Country Studies on the internet here.

Note: Cite a book in the Country Studies series as a book on a website.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors Topics in Caribbean History: Final Project: Library Resources

ONLINE DATABASES WITH BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON YOUR COUNTRY

ONLINE DATABASES WITH CURRENT COUNTRY INFORMATION

NEWSPAPER DATABASES

SEARCH TIP: Search your country in article headlines or lead/first paragraphs and limit date range to the time period you're researching.

Latin America, 2022-23 (World Today series)

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Caribbean Islands: A Country Study

Some Caribbean countries may have their own volume in the series (for example, Haiti and the Dominican Republic).

Find the complete list of Country Studies on the internet here.

Note: Cite a book in the Country Studies series as a book on a website.

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti