NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
NOTE: Our electronic resources are available to you both on and off campus.
Examples of Reference Sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and almanacs.
Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
This source contains Primary Sources.
Africa 2020-2022 (World Today Series) by
The World Today Series: Africa provides students with vital information on all countries on the African continent through a thorough and expert overview of political and economic histories, current events, and emerging trends. Each country is examined through the following sections: Basic Facts; Land and People; The Past: Political and Economic History; The Present: Contemporary Issues; and The Future. In addition to country chapters, the book features extended essays on Africa's Historical Background and the Colonial Period. The combination of factual accuracy and up-to-date detail along with its informed projections make this an outstanding resource for researchers, practitioners in international development, media professionals, government officials, potential investors and students. The content is thorough yet perfect for a one-semester introductory course or general library reference. Available in both print and e-book formats and priced low to fit student and library budgets.
Africa 2022-2023 (World Today Series) by
The World Today Series: Africa provides students with vital information on all countries on the African continent through a thorough and expert overview of political and economic histories, current events, and emerging trends. Each country is examined through the following sections: Basic Facts; Land and People; The Past: Political and Economic History; The Present: Contemporary Issues; and The Future. In addition to country chapters, the book features extended essays on Africa's Historical Background and the Colonial Period.
Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
Encyclopedia of African History
Encyclopedia of Democracy
With over 400 articles written by more than 200 international scholars, readers gain access to all aspects of democracy from its earliest stirrings to such recent developments as the end of eastern European communism and South African apartheid.
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions by
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions chronicles 2000 years of political revolutions and features approximately 300 articles providing answers to specific questions as well as in-depth treatment of events and trends.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
A Reference Source citation has 2 parts:
Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number). Most course guides include the ISBN in the reference title information on the Reference Sources page.The ISBN can be also found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Note: Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.
If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).
To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
next to the database name.Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.
You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).
