LibGuides: History of New York City: Robert Moses: Home

Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of New York City by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor); Nancy Flood (Editor); Lisa Keller (Editor)
Call Number: REF F128.3 .E75 2010
ISBN: 9780300114652
Publication Date: 2010
On reserve book truck.

Biography Reference Databases

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from America's past written by prominent scholars, supplemented by thousands of illustrations and cross references both within the database and to other select websites.

TO CITE: Choose Database and then Original Content in Database.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 600,000 individuals, including the full-text of Current Biography magazine 1940 - current.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Find Primary Sources in Library Databases

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Always limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic.
Try searching terms, phrases, etc. that were commonly used at the time in relation to your topic.
Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc

Historical Newspaper Databases

Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current and historical news sources from around the world. Search tips:
On your result list page, scroll down the left sidebar to "Source Location" where you can choose to limit to USA-New York if you wish.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of The New York Times published from its first issue on Sept.18,1851.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Journal Databases containing Primary Source Material

Look for articles written by Robert Moses by searching him as an Author.
Look for articles containing information about Moses by entering "Robert Moses" (in quotation marks) and leaving it at the default search in Academic Search Complete at "Select a Field (optional) and in JSTOR the default search "All fields."
Remember to limit your search to the date range relevant to Robert Moses's active years.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines, many of which are available full-text.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE
- To ensure equitable access, these books may be used IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
- You may scan pages using your smartphone - Don't forget to scan the title page and back of the title page too!
  - See Genius Scan info below.
During class time, these books will be freely available on the book truck.
- They do not need to be signed out.
- Please return the books you use to the book truck before leaving the library at the end of class.
Outside of class time, the book truck will be behind the Circulation Desk
- You may sign books out to use in the library only.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

Find Secondary Source Journal Articles in Library Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

History of New York City: Robert Moses: Home

Robert Moses

Was Moses Good or Bad for New York City?

Reference Sources

Biography Reference Databases

Find Primary Sources in Library Databases

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Historical Newspaper Databases

Journal Databases containing Primary Source Material

Look for articles written by Robert Moses by searching him as an Author.

Look for articles containing information about Moses by entering "Robert Moses" (in quotation marks) and leaving it at the default search in Academic Search Complete at "Select a Field (optional) and in JSTOR the default search "All fields."

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Find Secondary Source Journal Articles in Library Databases

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

History of New York City: Robert Moses: Home

Robert Moses

Was Moses Good or Bad for New York City?

Reference Sources

Biography Reference Databases

Find Primary Sources in Library Databases

Historical Newspaper and Journal Databases

Historical Newspaper Databases

Journal Databases containing Primary Source Material

Look for articles written by Robert Moses by searching him as an Author.

Look for articles containing information about Moses by entering "Robert Moses" (in quotation marks) and leaving it at the default search in Academic Search Complete at "Select a Field (optional) and in JSTOR the default search "All fields."

BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Find Secondary Source Journal Articles in Library Databases

If you have any questions, see Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett