Honors US History: Causes of the Civil War: Secondary Sources

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

Print and electronic books can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

To cite a book, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

• Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
  • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for   next to the database name.
  • If you cannot export the citation, go to NoodleTools, choose Database and then Book.
  • Be sure to provide the permanent URL for your ebook. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
• Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
  • Choose Book.
  • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
  • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Enter the name of the website, and publisher if given.
• Print or In Hand = a print book, such as one found in the library 
  • Choose Book.
  • If published after 1967, look for the ISBN and enter it into NoodleTools.
  • Make sure you have the author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

If you have any questions, Ms. Cavuto, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett are happy to help!

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

Citations may be directly exported to NoodleTools from the following journal databases: 

• Academic OneFile
• Academic Search Complete
• JSTOR

To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it: 

• Database = an article found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete.
  • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for the   next to the database name.
• If you cannot export the citation, go to NoodleTools, choose Database and then Journal.
  • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, Citable Link. 
• Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.
• Print or In Hand = a print journal found in the library's Reading Room.

Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.

A journal article citation has 2 parts:

• information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
• information about the journal as a whole: title of the journal, volume and issue numbers, and date of publication.

If you have any questions about citing journal articles, 

see (or email) Ms. Cavuto, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett.