LibGuides: Modern Chinese History: China in the News: Home

ONLINE DATABASES

DATABASES WITH COUNTRY INFORMATION, including current news

CountryWatch has the latest news and information including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.

For the latest news, click on Current Events or Intelligence Zone in the menu bar, choose Country Wire, and select China from the drop-down list.
For the country profile, click on Intelligence Zone in the menu bar, select Country Reviews and then choose China from the drop-down list.

Gale in Context: Global Issues in Context integrates a variety of resources including viewpoint articles, reference, news, videos, and more.

Search China in the main search bar or select China from the category Countries and Territories.

NEWS and PERIODICAL DATABASES

Always limit your search to the date range relevant to the topic area you are researching
Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, such as The Economist (online and print to current date) and the Wall Street Journal (online and print to current date). TIP: To limit to either of these specific sources, you can do a Publications search for "The Economist" or "Wall Street Journal" (in quotation marks). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines, including
The Atlantic (1993-current) and Foreign Affairs (1922-current)
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodlleTools.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories, including the South China Post (online and print to current date) TIPS: To search SCP exclusively, click on A-Z Source List in the blue menu bar.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools. For a list of suggested topics, click here.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

RELIABLE WEBSITES FOR CURRENT NEWS

The websites below are considered to be reputable news sources by media bias and factual reporting services such as MediaBiasFactCheck and Ad Fontes Media. None has a paywall that limits access.

Al Jazeera: China
Associated Press (AP): China The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
BBC: China
Reuters: China Reuters is a global news agency that was founded nearly 170 years ago. Our journalists work all over the world and are guided by the Trust Principles, which state that Reuters must report the news with integrity, independence, and freedom from bias.

The journal Current History (2000 - present) devotes each September issue to China and East Asia. This issue usually includes coverage of Southeast Asia as well, and occasionally Australasia too. Note that this link only works from on-campus, so plan accordingly.

Follow this link to the September 2023 issue on China and East Asia.

About Current History

Begun as a supplement to the New York Times in 1914, Current History is the oldest publication devoted exclusively to international affairs published in the United States. The journal aims to observe and explain the profound changes transforming every region of the world, providing readers with a better understanding of today's crucial events and pressing global trends through contributions from leading and emerging experts and scholars.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Modern Chinese History: China in the News: Home

CHINA IN THE NEWS

Reliable Resources

ONLINE DATABASES

DATABASES WITH COUNTRY INFORMATION, including current news

NEWS and PERIODICAL DATABASES

RELIABLE WEBSITES FOR CURRENT NEWS

The websites below are considered to be reputable news sources by media bias and factual reporting services such as MediaBiasFactCheck and Ad Fontes Media. None has a paywall that limits access.

The journal Current History (2000 - present) devotes each September issue to China and East Asia. This issue usually includes coverage of Southeast Asia as well, and occasionally Australasia too. Note that this link only works from on-campus, so plan accordingly.

Follow this link to the September 2023 issue on China and East Asia.

About Current History

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Modern Chinese History: China in the News: Home

CHINA IN THE NEWS

Reliable Resources

ONLINE DATABASES

DATABASES WITH COUNTRY INFORMATION, including current news

NEWS and PERIODICAL DATABASES

RELIABLE WEBSITES FOR CURRENT NEWS

The websites below are considered to be reputable news sources by media bias and factual reporting services such as MediaBiasFactCheck and Ad Fontes Media. None has a paywall that limits access.

The journal Current History (2000 - present) devotes each September issue to China and East Asia. This issue usually includes coverage of Southeast Asia as well, and occasionally Australasia too. Note that this link only works from on-campus, so plan accordingly.

Follow this link to the September 2023 issue on China and East Asia.

About Current History

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti