LibGuides: Alternate Literary Histories: The Underground Railroad: Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources in Online Databases

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in African-American history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690 – 2000 This link opens in a new window
Browse the timelines of key eras in U.S. history from 1690 to 2000 for the landmark events of the era. Each event / issue includes an overview as well as links to related articles in newspapers of the time. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

NOTE: When searching the following newspaper databases, be sure to limit the time frame of your search to that of your historical event.

Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Find articles organized by eras in U.S. History in the companion database America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-2000. TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools. For a list of suggested topics, click here.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 270 historically significant African-American newspapers from across the U.S. TIPS:Choose Advanced Search; change Sort to BEST.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Find Primary Sources in Other Reference Sources

Milestone Documents in African American History
Call Number: Ref E184.6 .M55 2017. 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1682175790
Publication Date: 2017

Click here for more Reference books / ebooks containing primary sources in African American history.

Find Primary Sources in RhinoCat

Search Rhinocat for library books and ebooks containing primary source documents by copying and pasting the following phrase (in its entirety) into the basic keyword search, substituting your topic for xxxxx:

su,wrdl: personal narratives or su,wrdl: sources or su,wrdl: diaries and kw,phr: xxxxx

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources

This open website from ProQuest features approximately 1,600 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in the African American freedom struggle. Documents include historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Alternate Literary Histories: The Underground Railroad: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.

Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

Find Primary Sources in Online Databases

Find Primary Sources in Other Reference Sources

Click here for more Reference books / ebooks containing primary sources in African American history.

Find Primary Sources in RhinoCat

Search Rhinocat for library books and ebooks containing primary source documents by copying and pasting the following phrase (in its entirety) into the basic keyword search, substituting your topic for xxxxx:

su,wrdl: personal narratives or su,wrdl: sources or su,wrdl: diaries and kw,phr: xxxxx

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Alternate Literary Histories: The Underground Railroad: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.

Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

Find Primary Sources in Online Databases

Find Primary Sources in Other Reference Sources

Click here for more Reference books / ebooks containing primary sources in African American history.

Find Primary Sources in RhinoCat

Search Rhinocat for library books and ebooks containing primary source documents by copying and pasting the following phrase (in its entirety) into the basic keyword search, substituting your topic for xxxxx:

su,wrdl: personal narratives or su,wrdl: sources or su,wrdl: diaries and kw,phr: xxxxx

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti