NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
Using sources from the library (no non-library sources), create an annotated bibliography that contains sources that would contribute to your Aztec v. Inca Essay.
Resources are to include:
means this source contains Primary Sources.
means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.
Each of these databases contains reference articles, secondary source materials, and primary sources.
The Ancient World: Extraordinary People in Extraordinary Societies
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World
Latin America, History and Culture
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
The Aztecs by 
The Aztecs, Rise and Fall of an Empire by 
Colonial Culhuacan, 1580-1600: a Social History of an Aztec Town by 
Fifth Sun: a New History of the Aztecs by
"Five hundred years ago, in November 1519, Hernando Cortés walked along a causeway leading to the capital of the Aztec kingdom and came face to face with Moctezuma. That story--and the story of what happened afterwards--has been told many times, but always from the point of view of the Europeans. After all, we have been taught, it was the Europeans who held the pens. But the Native Americans were more intrigued by the Roman alphabet than the Spaniards ever knew. Unbeknownst to the newcomers, the Aztecs took it home and used it to write detailed histories in their own language of Nahuatl. Until recently, these sources remained obscure, only partially translated, and almost never consulted by scholars. For the first time, in Fifth Sun, the history of the Aztecs is offered in all its complexity, in an account based solely on the texts written by the people themselves.
Handbook to Life in the Aztec World by 
Everyday Life of the Incas by 
The Incas: Empire of Blood and Gold by 
Incas: Lords of Gold and Glory by 
The Last of the Incas by
Encounters in the New World: a History in Documents by
A collection of primary sources documenting the early clash of cultures in the Americas, Encounters in the New World spans the years from Columbus's voyage in 1492 to the publication of the autobiography of Olaudah Equiano, a former slave, in 1789. Emotional eyewitness accounts--memoirs,petitions, diaries, captivity narratives, private correspondence--as well as formal documents, official reports, and journalistic reportage give body and texture to the historical events described. A special 16-page color cartographic section, including maps from both Europe and North America, isfascinating not only for the maps' telltale imperfections, but also because they convey information about how their creators saw themselves and the world around them. A Jesuit priest's chronicle of life among his Iroquois captors, Aztec records of forbidding omens, excerpts from Columbus's ship'slog, John Smith's account of cannibalism among the British residents of Jamestown, slave auction advertisements, memoirs by several members of Cortes's expedition, the reminiscences of an escaped slave-these are just a few examples of the wealth of primary sources collected here. Jill Lepore, winnerof the distinguished Bancroft Prize for history in 1999, provides informed, expert commentary linking the documents into a fascinating and seamless narrative.Textbooks may interpret history, but the books in the Pages from History series are history. Each title, compiled and edited by a prominent historian, is a collection of primary sources relating to a particular topic of historical significance. Documentary evidence including news articles,government documents, memoirs, letters, diaries, fiction, photographs, and facsimiles allows history to speak for itself and turns every reader into a historian. Headnotes, extended captions, sidebars, and introductory essays provide the essential context that frames the documents. All the books areamply illustrated and each spans the years froincludes a documentary picture essay, chronology, further reading, source notes, and index.
First Encounters: Native Voices on the Coming of the Europeans by 
Readings in Latin-American Civilization: 1492 to the Present by 
The Art of the Aztecs and Its Origins by 
The Bernal Diaz Chronicles: The True Story of the Conquest of Mexico by
Vivid, powerful and absorbing, this is a first-person account of the overthrow of Montezuma's doomed Aztec Empire by the ruthless Hernan Cortes and his band of adventurers. Bernal Díaz del Castillo, himself a soldier under Cortes, presents a fascinatingly detailed description of the Spanish landing in Mexico in 1520 and their amazement at the city, the exploitation of the natives for gold and other treasures, the expulsion and flight of the Spaniards, their regrouping and eventual capture of the Aztec capital.
The Broken Spears: the Aztec Account of the Conquest of Mexico by
The Broken Spears contains accounts from native Aztec descendants across the centuries. These texts bear witness to the extraordinary vitality of an oral tradition that preserves the viewpoints of the vanquished instead of the victors.
Victors and Vanquished: Spanish and Nahua views of the Conquest of Mexico by 
Art of the Incas and Its Origins by 
History of the Inca Empire: An Account of the Indians’ Customs and Their Origin, Together with a Treatise on Inca Legends, History, and Social Institutions by
The Historia del Nuevo Mundo, set down by Father Bernabe Cobo during the first half of the seventeenth century, represents a singulary valuable source on Inca culture. Working directly frorn the original document, Roland Hamilton has translated that part of Cobo's massive manuscripts that focuses on the history of the kingdom of Peru. The volume includes a general account of the aspect, character, and dress of the Indians as well as a superb treatise on the Incas―their legends, history, and social institutions.
The Incas of Pedro de Cieza de León by
Cieza arrived in Cartagena in 1536 and traveled through South America for the next seventeen years, observing the country and its peoples and preserving the achievements of Inca civilization, even as it was being destroyed. Cieza was no fine scholar recording the conquest, but wrote that he “saw strange and wonderful things that exist in this New World of the Indies, and there came over me a great desire to write certain of them.” And write them he did.
Royal Commentaries of the Incas and General History of Peru by 
