LibGuides: World Cinema: Film Project: Home

Find Reviews and Articles in Online Subscription Databases

To find reviews and articles about your movie in Taft Subscription Databases:

Enter your movie's title in quotation marks, for example, "The Shape of Water", in the first search field.
In the next search field, enter the director's last name.
Limit to Full Text.
Choose Document type: Film Review / Movie Review and also Article.
Using relevant search terms, you can also search for articles about race and gender in film generally. Remember to limit to Full Text.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of The New York Times published from its first issue on Sept.18,1851.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1980-Current This link opens in a new window
Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range to your topic's time frame. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
The Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
More than 200 years of news in full facsimile images from London's premier newspaper. TIPS: Choose Advanced Search and limit by Publication Date. Limit Document Type to Editorial.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Websites

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature from many academic publishers, universities, and other scholarly organizations. In many cases, results may be citations only, but the library can often get resources quickly through Interlibrary Loan. See Ms. Taylor if you need an article not available at Taft or through one of our databases.
IMDB Internet Movie Database
MetaCritic.com
"We carefully curate a large group of the world’s most respected critics, assign scores to their reviews, and apply a weighted average** to summarize the range of their opinions. The result is a single number that captures the essence of critical opinion in one Metascore... **Metascore is a weighted average in that we assign more importance, or weight, to some critics and publications than others, based on their quality and overall stature."
Movie Review Query Engine
A searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies.
RogerEbert.com
"An American film review website that archives reviews written by film critic Roger Ebert for the Chicago Sun-Times and also shares other critics' reviews and essays. ... Ebert handpicked writers from around the world to contribute to the website."
Rotten Tomatoes
"The world’s preeminent destination for movie criticism, commentary and community...continues to maintain Roger’s high standards for providing timeless insights in cinematic discourse, while exploring the latest releases with coverage penned by a diverse array of esteemed writers."

Other Reference Sources and Books

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Call Number: Ref PR1993.45 .G65 2007 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0028657918
Publication Date: 2006

These books may be signed out for USE IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for the duration of the assignment:

Film: An International History of the Medium by Robert Sklar
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 S55 1993
ISBN: 0810933217
Publication Date: 1993
The Film Encyclopedia "The best movie reference book, hands down" (Newsweek) is now available in a deftly revised and meticulously updated 7th edition...expanded to include new, thorough coverage of independent films, the artistic and technical aspects of filmmaking, and the trends that lie close to the heart of today's movie buff.
Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2012
ISBN: 9780062026156
Publication Date: 2012
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film From David Thomson--"The greatest living writer on the movies" (John Banville); "Our most argumentative and trustworthy historian of the screen" (Michael Ondaatje)--is the latest edition of The New Biographical Dictionary of Film, which topped Sight & Sound's poll of international critics and writers as "The Best Film Book Ever Written."
Call Number: Ref PN1998.2 T49 2014
ISBN: 9780375711848
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford History of World Cinema by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith, editor
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 O96 1995
ISBN: 0198112572
Publication Date: 1996
The Story of Cinema by David Shipman
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 S52 1984
ISBN: 0312762798
Publication Date: 1984

Biography Resources

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 600,000 individuals, including the full-text of Current Biography magazine 1940 - current.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Wikipedia (French)
If needed, use Google Translate to translate into English or other language.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

World Cinema: Film Project: Home

This research guide has been assembled to give you easy access to the best possible information on films of

Krzysztof Kieślowski, Olivier Nakache and Éric Toledano, and Giuseppe Tornatore.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Writing about Film: Terminology and Starting Prompts

Find Reviews and Articles in Online Subscription Databases

To find reviews and articles about your movie in Taft Subscription Databases:

Websites

Other Reference Sources and Books

These books may be signed out for USE IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for the duration of the assignment:

Biography Resources

NEED ASSISTANCE?

See Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!