Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Sources created by those who lived it
Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source. Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.
Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.
Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools
Primary Sources in Newspapers
Important tips for searching for primary sources in historical news / periodical databases:
- Always limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic.
- Try searching terms, phrases, etc. that were commonly used at the time in relation to your topic.
- Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc
Citations can be exported from these databases to NoodleTools.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Find articles organized by eras in U.S. History in the companion database America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-2000. TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
Citations can be exported to NoodleTools. For a list of suggested topics, click here.
New York Times: 1851-2018 This link opens in a new window
TIPS: Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Find Primary Sources in RhinoCat Library Catalog
To find primary source material in books/ebooks and reference books/ebooks, follow these tips:
To find primary sources by or about a person relevant to your topic in our catalog
- Do an Author search using the name of a person relevant to your topic to find books, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies written by that person.
- Do an Author search using the name of the United States President in office at the time to find Public Papers, as well as books, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies.
- Do a Keyword search of your person's name to identify writings, interviews, speeches in anthologies and collections.
- Keywords you can combine with your topic or person's name include speeches, diaries, interviews, and correspondence. For example:
- Progressive era speeches
- Theodore Roosevelt correspondence
To find primary sources on your topic in our catalog
- Paste the following exact word string into the RhinoCat basic keyword search box below:
su,wrdl: personal narratives or su,wrdl: sources or su,wrdl: diaries and kw,phr: xxxxx
- Substitute your broad topic or topic phrase for xxxxx
Primary Sources in Books / eBooks
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources by These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic: Crime and Punishment Environmental Issues Family in Society Gender Issues and Sexuality Government, Politics, and Protest Human and Civil Rights Immigration and Multiculturalism Medicine, Bioethics, and Health Social Policy Terrorism Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. Entries are organized into chapters that feature a general overview of the chapter's subtopic. The following standard subheads are included in each entry: Date Source About the Author Introduction Primary Source Significance Further ResourcesAll titles contain an introduction to its topic, a chronology of major events associated with the topic, and a general index. A comprehensive subject index is included with print set purchases only.
Call Number: (an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2006
Primary Sources on the Internet
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
DocsTeach: Women's Rights
This site from the National Archives presents document collections relating to women's rights in the U.S., including Citizenship Rights; Reproductive Rights; Women in the Workforce; Employment, Education, and Consumer Rights.