Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
History of the LGBTQ rights movement
This page has been assembled to give you easy access to the best possible information on the LGBTQ rights movement. Start here on the Reference Sources Page, and then move on to the Secondary and Primary sources page. If you can't find what you're looking for, ask a librarian! We are happy to help!
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties: Revised and Expanded Edition, 2nd Edition [4 Volumes] by Thoroughly updated and featuring 75 new entries, this monumental four-volume work illuminates past and present events associated with civil rights and civil liberties in the United States. This revised and expanded four-volume encyclopedia is unequaled for both the depth and breadth of its coverage. Some 650 entries address the full range of civil rights and liberties in America from the Colonial Era to the present. In addition to many updates of material from the first edition, the work offers 75 new entries about recent issues and events; among them, dozens of topics that are the subject of close scrutiny and heated debate in America today. There is coverage of controversial issues such as voter ID laws, the use of drones, transgender issues, immigration, human rights, and government surveillance. There is also expanded coverage of women's rights, gay rights/gay marriage, and Native American rights. Entries are enhanced by 42 primary documents that have shaped modern understanding of the extent and limitations of civil liberties in the United States, including landmark statutes, speeches, essays, court decisions, and founding documents of influential civil rights organizations. Designed as an up-to-date reference for students, scholars, and others interested in the expansive array of topics covered, the work will broaden readers' understanding of--and appreciation for--the people and events that secured civil rights guarantees and concepts in this country. At the same time, it will help readers better grasp the reasoning behind and ramifications of 21st-century developments like changing applications of Miranda Rights and government access to private Internet data. Maintaining an impartial stance throughout, the entries objectively explain the varied perspectives on these hot-button issues, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions. Offers 686 alphabetically arranged entries, ranging from thoroughly updated entries from the first edition to 75 new entries that cover dramatic changes in civil rights and liberties in the last decade Covers the latest events and controversies surrounding civil liberties issues in America Fully explores the scope and limitations of Constitutional rights, a perennially hot topic in American politics and society Includes primary documents with contextual headnotes to enhance understanding of the full importance of the featured document Provides sources for further reading with each entry to help users engage in additional research
Call Number: Online Only
Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Call Number: REFERENCE HN57 .E594 2004.
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States This new 5-volume MacMillan set focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. One of the encyclopedia's distinguishing themes is the examination of case law, the essential texts that form the backbone of legal and pre-legal study in the United States. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation. This approach plays directly into the cutting-edge field known as the law and social issues movement, which studies political and non-judicial history, and advocates a law outside the courts approach. Almost 1,100 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, cases, topics, personalities, institutions, events, and processes. Written in accessible language and supplemented with a glossary, thematic outline, historical documents, illustrations, and indexes this title provides context and ease-of-use to law and pre-law students, professors, legal professionals and general users.
Publication Date: 2008-10-24
Great Events from History: LGBTQ Events by This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally, making enormous strides to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community.
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ73 .G74 2017
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Hate Crimes by Hate crime is a disturbing phenomenon that is the subject of constant debate, discussion, and legislation. This book helps readers understand the complex issue and see how the government and activists are proactively combating hate crime. With the first two editions widely praised by reviewers, Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook, Third Edition remains the most comprehensive reference source on bias-motivated violence committed in the United States. The book contains vital history on hate crime legislation, provides a detailed chronology of recent events, and offers the most up-to-date information on its prevalence and the affected religious, racial, and other targeted communities, such as Jewish Americans and Sikh Americans. Dozens of expert contributors--such as Kenneth L. Marcus, president and general counsel of the Louis D. Brandeis Center for Human Rights Under Law--present a balanced range of perspectives on the growing phenomenon, enabling readers to fully comprehend the widespread problem and develop their own informed opinion. Written in an accessible style suited to high school and undergraduate-level students as well as general readers, this book provides an essential, current, and easy-to-read ready reference on the timely and evolving issue of hate crime in the United States. The material provides an introductory overview of the topic of hate crime as well as insightful discussion of specific subjects, such as U.S. Supreme Court decisions and federal and state legislation regarding hate crimes, the incidence of hate crimes committed on America's college campuses, and governmental and citizen efforts to combat this disturbing phenomenon. Presents a unique listing of audio-visual sources, including the most comprehensive annotated entries of magazine articles and other books on the topic Provides the most comprehensive source for U.S. congressional hearings and legislation on hate crimes Supplies a wide range of viewpoints on the philosophical and legal arguments both in support of and in opposition to hate crime legislation
Call Number: HV6773.52 .A47 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
LGBTQ in the 21st Century by Although the historic majority opinion of Obergefell v. Hodges legalized same-sex marriage nationwide and the military has moved toward a "gender neutral" enlistment policy, how LGBTQ people maneuver American society continues to get worked out at every level --in schools, in courts and in the popular culture. Issues that will be explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights. As conservative governors sue the federal government and try to block what they call a "massive social experiment" in school bathrooms and locker rooms, and states deal with the attendant backlash, LGBTQ activists continue to force a national conversation on gender identity.
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 L43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-28
Opinions Throughout History: Gender Roles and Rights by This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1075.5.U6 I87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Same-Sex Marriage: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by Same-sex marriage continues to be a polarizing subject in the United States and other parts of the world. This new edition of Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference Handbook brings readers up to date on the status of same-sex unions from social, legal, political, and historical perspectives. According to Pew Research poll data, in 2001, the majority of Americans opposed same-sex marriage--57 percent against, 35 percent in support. As of 2015, a majority of Americans (55 percent) supported same-sex marriage, with 39 percent expressing opposition. The landmark Obergefell v. Hodges case, in which the U.S. Supreme Court held in a 5-4 decision that the fundamental right to marry is guaranteed to same-sex couples, is likely further influencing opinions among U.S. citizens. Still, controversy and heated debate continues to ensue on the social, legal, and political implications of same-sex marriage. The second edition of Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference Handbook presents thorough coverage of recent changes in the legal status of same-sex marriage in the United States as well as essays that provide historical perspectives on same-sex marriage; an extensive, up-to-date bibliography; a collection of primary source documents; a glossary; and a chronology that will serve readers studying the topic. New material includes a detailed discussion of the 2015 Supreme Court of the United States decision as well as coverage of issues that have arisen as a result of the Obergefell case, such as the debate over "religious freedom" and LGBT civil rights legislation. Presents up-to-date coverage of important events in the modern history of same-sex marriage in the United States and other parts of the world as well as public opinion and statistics on same-sex marriage Describes and explains changes in the legal status of same-sex marriage since the U.S. Supreme Court decision on Obergefell v. Hodges in 2015 Outlines potential future directions of the ongoing debate over same-sex marriage Provides an extensive bibliography, a collection of documents, a set of essays, and other resources for extended study of the topic
Call Number: Online Only
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Issues & Controversies
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Sirs Issues Researcher
A general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Politics
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
If you have any questions,
see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!