Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: Mesoamerican Civilizations: Greece and Rome

ANCIENT GREECEANCIENT ROME

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources will have more specific information about your topic.

  • Secondary source books are written by scholars and present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study.

 

BOOKS ON RESERVE AT THE CIRCULATION DESK To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project.

To borrow reserve books:

  1. Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.
  2. We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you.
  3. When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.

Citation tip: choose Print or In Hand and then Book. See more details below.

General (on both Greece and Rome)

  • The ancient city: life in classical Athens and Rome / Peter Connelly and Hazel Dodge. DE59 .C59 1998
  • The Frugal Gourmet cooks three ancient cuisines: China, Greece, and Rome / Jeff Smith. TX724.5 .C5 S597
  • Health and wellness in antiquity through the Middle Ages / William H. York. (an online ebook)
  • The victor's crown: a history of ancient sport from Homer to Byzantium. GV573 .P67 2012
  • Women, from the Greeks to the French Revolution / ed. by Susan Groag Bell. HQ1122 .B56 1980      PS

Greece

  • Ancient Greece (History of weapons and warfare series) / Don Nardo. U33 .N37 2003
  • Ancient Greece: a social, political, and cultural history / Sarah Pomeroy et al. DF77 .A595 1999
  • Ancient Greek athletics / Stephen G. Miller
  • The ancient Greek world / Jennifer T. Roberts and Tracy Barrett. DF215 .R633 2004
  • Athens : a history, from ancient ideal to modern city / Robin Waterfield. DF921 .W37 2004
  • Daily life of the ancient Greeks / Robert Garland. DF78 .G276 1998
  • Greek theatre in context / Eric Dugdale. PA3131 .D78 2008
  • Gymnastics of the mind : Greek education in Hellenistic and Roman Egypt / Raffaella Cribiore. (an online ebook)
  • Handbook to life in ancient Greece / Lesley Adkins and Roy A. Adkins. DF77 .A35 1997
  • Life in Greece in ancient times / Paul Werner. DF77 .W43.
  • The rise and fall of classical Greece / Josiah Ober. DF77 .O24 2015
  • Women of ancient Greece / Pierre Brulé. HQ1134 .B7813 2003

Rome

  • The ancient Roman city / John E. Stambaugh. HT114 .S7
  • The ancient Roman world / Ronald Meller and Marni McGee. DG231 .M45 2004
  • Ancient Rome (History of weapons and warfare series) / Don Nardo. U33 .N37 2003
  • Daily life in ancient Rome / Florence Dupont. DG78 .D8713 1993.
  • Daily life of the ancient Romans / David Matz.  (an online ebook)
  • A day in the life of ancient Rome / Alberto Angela. DG78 .A64513 2009
  • Handbook to life in ancient Rome / Lesley Adkins and Roy A. Adkins. DG77 .A35 1994
  • Invisible Romans / Robert Knapp. DG78 .K57 2011
  • Life in ancient Rome / F. R. Cowell
  • Life in Rome in ancient times / text by Paul Werner. DG77 .W47 1977
  • Pompeii: public and private life / Paul Zanker. DG70.P7 Z3613 1998.
  • Roman architecture / Frank E. Brown. NA310 .B75 1961
  • Roman life / Mary Johnston. DG90 .J73
  • Roman theatre / Timothy J. Moore. PA6073 .M66 2012
  • The Romans /  Andrea Giaerdina. DG78 .R58313 1993
  • SPQR: a history of ancient Rome / Mary Beard. DG231 .B43 2015

Primary Source

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.

Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

 

Primary Sources in Books / eBooks

  • The Ancient world : (2700 B.C.E. - c.500 C.E.) / editor, Michael Shally-Jensen. Ref D59 .A53 2015 (also an online ebook)
  • As the Romans did : a source book in Roman social history / Jo-Ann Shelton. HN10.R7 S45 1988
  • Daily life in ancient Rome: a sourcebook / Ed. by Brain K. Harvey
  • They saw it happen in classical times : an anthology of eye-witnesses' accounts of events in the histories of Greece and Rome, 1400 B.C.-A.D.540 / Ed. by B.K. Workman. D52 .W6 1970
  • Voices of Ancient Greece and Rome : contemporary accounts of daily life / David Matz. DE59 .V64 2012
  • Women, from the Greeks to the French Revolution / ed. by Susan Groag Bell. HQ1122 .B56 1980   
  • Women in the classical world: image and text / Elaine Fantham. HQ1127 .W652 1994 (1995 ed. an online ebook)
  • Women's life in Greece and Rome : a source book in translation / Mary R. Lefkowitz and Maureen B. Fant. HQ1127 .W653 2005

 

Primary Sources in Online Subscription Databases

  • Ancient and Medieval History Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on eight ancient and medieval civilizations. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
  • Daily Life Through History Use the Filters button at the top of your search results list to select Documents and media, which may include primary source artifacts and images. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools
  • Gale in Context: World History Select Primary Sources from the menu bar on your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
  • World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras Use the Filters button at the top of your search results list to select Documents and media, which may include primary source artifacts and images. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

 

Primary Sources on the Internet

If you have any questions,

see Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor

OR email us at 

spadgett@taftschool.org  

  taylorp@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks and Primary Sources

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it.

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities e-Book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!

 

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as World History: Ancient and Medieval.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch or a search engine such as Google. 
  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

  • Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
  • If you are not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.