Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
This page brings together a curated list of current news sources and databases that specialize in providing access both reporting and background information on issues facing the world right now.
Access The New York Times
The databases listed below include up-to-date contents from several newspapers and news organizations. The advantage of using these databases is that it is often easier to find current news about a given topic using these databases than by individually visiting several different sites or newspapers independently.
Hartford Courant: 1992-current
Full text of America's longest running newspaper, 1992-current.
No coverage 1923-1991. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1980-Current
Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
ResearchIT CT U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues Based Sources
The resources in this box are designed to give both background and current information for a wide range of current topics of note. The beauty of these sources is the way they integrate reference materials (for overview and context) along with a diverse range of secondary and primary sources to allow you, the researcher, to quickly generate an informed opinion on the major issues facing the world.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Sirs Issues Researcher
A general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Reliable News Organizations
AP (Associated Press)
The Associated Press is an American non-profit news agency headquartered in New York City. Founded in 1846, it operates as a cooperative, unincorporated association.
BBC News is a British free-to-air television news channel run by the British Broadcasting Corporation.
BNO News is an international news agency headquartered in Tilburg, the Netherlands. It provides news wire services to companies. The acronym BNO stands for BreakingNewsOn.
Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor, commonly known as The Monitor, is a nonprofit news organization that publishes daily articles in electronic format as well as a weekly print edition.
The Financial Times is an international daily newspaper printed in broadsheet and published digitally that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
Reuters is an international news organization owned by Thomson Reuters. It employs some 2,500 journalists and 600 photojournalists in about 200 locations worldwide. The agency was established in London in 1851 by the German-born Paul Reuter.
Note: News organizations have been included in the above list based on a cross comparison of a number of analyses of media bias and accuracy including (but not limited to) allsides.com, adfontesmedia.com, and mediabiasfactcheck.com.