Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Senior Research and Composition: History's "Great" Events: Images

Images

About Images

It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator / owner of the image, be it a photographer, an artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution. Use the resources we provide below to find images you can freely use in your project. 

 

We recommend that you start your image search with the subscription database Britannica ImageQuest, which contains millions of images rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. 

See below for how to search Google Images and Google Advanced Search for images which are licensed for reuse.

 

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

Find Images in Online Subscription Databases

Images in the following subscription databases may be used and must be cited.

Images found in ABC-CLIO, EBSCO, Gale, Infobase, and other subscription databases are copyright rights-cleared and may be used by subscribers for educational purposes.

Tip: To download an image you find in a database, right click on the image and choose "Save image as"

Find Images Using Google

Google Images  On your search results page, click on Tools -- choose Usage Rights -- choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Google Advanced Image Search On the advanced search page, scroll down to usage rights - choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Powerpoint Tips

CREATE AN EFFECTIVE PRESENTATION!

9 Powerpoint Presentation Tips for Students 

(from Lifewire, a leading technology information site)

Help!

If you have any questions,

see Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor

OR email us at 

spadgett@taftschool.org  

  taylorp@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Images

NOTEAn image is cited on the slide upon which it appears rather than in the bibliography at the end of your project.

To cite an Image, choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
  • Website =  a website like Digital Public Library of America or one found through Google Images.
  • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

  • To download an image, right click on the image and choose "Save image as". (On a MacBook, hold down Ctrl and click = right click) 
  • To get the permanent URL of the image for your citation, right click on the image and choose "Copy image address".

NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!