LibGuides: Race and Gender in Hollywood Cinema: Terminology Project: Home

Your Assignment

You will research the definition and significance of one of the following basic terms / concepts for the course:

The following online databases contain Reference sources with reliable factual and background information.

THINK Who, What, When, Where, Why, How

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books and monographs in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: http://support.gale.com/doc/gvrl-video4

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The complete 20+ volumes of the OED, the definitive record of the English language.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/LV8Z2e1If7o

Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial by Laura Martin, Dock Mennonite Academy High School Library: https://youtu.be/Etf-_5jWLE0

Find and Evaluate Websites ( (a Taft Library How Do I? guide which includes the CRAAP Test for website evaluation.)
SweetSearch, A Search Engine for StudentsOpens a New Window. searches only credible websites approved by research experts.
Limit your search to colleges and universities in the U.S. by including the phrase site:edu in your search. Note: be aware that universities may allow their students to use their edu domain. If there is a tilde (~) in the address, it may be a personal student page which is not monitored by the institution.

From Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab)

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/M1yd-hNWSas

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/LwdvCs9aFKQ

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/tkaCwk_HvxA

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: http://support.gale.com.lib2.taftschool.org:2048/doc/gic-video1

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Copy and paste the following URL for an online tutorial: http://support.gale.com.lib2.taftschool.org:2048/doc/ovic-webinar

Evaluating Sources: Where to Begin (Purdue OWL)
Find and Evaluate Websites (a Taft Library How Do I? guide which includes the CRAAP Test for website evaluation.)