Skip to main content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS Taft Google Drive
TaftNet
Taft Calendar
Our Periodicals List
Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
Add a Network Printer
Access the NY Times
Access the Waterbury Republican-American
Access the Papyrus
Download Audiobooks
Find and Evaluate Websites
Find Primary Sources
Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Revolutions: COVID-19 Culminating Project: Home

If you have any questions, email Mr. Padgett spadgett@taftschool.org or Ms. Taylor taylorp@taftschool.org.

We're here to help!

General Search Tips for Databases

  • Look for search terms in article titles only. 
    • ​Database searches generally default to keyword. Using the drop-down list to the right of the search bar, look for titledocument title, or comparable term such as newspaper Headline.
  • Limit results to Full Text:
    • Make sure that all the results are items you can access by limiting results to Full Text results only. Databases often include a mix of full text items and abstracts/synopses of items. Selecting Full Text helps prevent frustration.
  • Use Filters:
    • Look for filters / limiters on your results page, such as Subject and Source types. This will help ensure you get only the results that you want and will make sure you don't have to wade through as many results.
    • Look especially for:
      • Source types: Magazines, Newspapers
      • Lexile levels of about 1050 to 1300. You can modify the lexile level as you go.
  • Use AND / OR operators:
    • Use AND in your search when there are words that all need to be in your search results.
    • Use OR when there are two words that can be used interchangeably, but at least one of them needs to be present in your results.
    • Examples:
      • coronavirus OR COVID-19
      • coronavirus OR COVID-19 AND Spain (Articles about the virus in Spain only.)

NoodleTools General Tips

PLEASE NOTE

Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources.

NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

For a new citation, click on +New Source.

  1. First, choose where you found your source. Most likely, it will be one of these:
    • Database 
    • Website
  2. Second, choose what your source is. Most likely, it will be one of these:
    • Magazine
    • Newspaper
    • Web Page

 

Find Resources in Online Subscription Databases

Websites

About Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Carnegie Endowment for World Peace: Pandemic As the deadly coronavirus disrupts daily life around the world, Carnegie experts offer analysis of the political, economic, and geostrategic effects of the global pandemic.

Covid-19 Websites is a page from the Stephen B. Thacker Library, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

FocusEconomics is a leading provider of economic analysis and forecasts for 130 countries in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, as well as price forecasts for 34 key commodities. 

International Crisis Group is a transnational non-profit, non-governmental organisation founded in 1995. It is a think tank, used by policymakers and academics, performing research and analysis on global crises. ICG has described itself as "working to prevent wars and shape policies that will build a more peaceful world".

International Monetary Fund is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an is an intergovernmental economic organization with 36 member countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade. What are the impacts and consequences of the coronavirus pandemic on our lives and our societies – and what are some of the solutions we can find to boost our healthcare systems, secure our businesses, maintain our jobs and education, and stabilize financial markets and economies?

Our World in Data Poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality: The world faces many great and terrifying problems. It is these large problems that our work at Our World in Data focuses on...The goal of our work is to make the knowledge on the big problems accessible and understandable.

United Nations Covid-19 Response

United States Institute of Peace: Global Health The USIP is a national, nonpartisan, independent institute, founded by Congress and dedicated to the proposition that a world without violent conflict is possible, practical, and essential for U.S. and global security.

World Health Organization: Coronavirus WHO is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON FINDING RELIABLE WEBSITES, GO TO THE GUIDE FIND AND EVALUATE WEBSITES.