Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
eBook Only Search
Use this search to find only ebooks that can be accessed via our library catalog.
This search defaults to a Subject search.
Just type the word "sources" and then your subject and see what comes up!
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
NoodleTools Tips for Citing Primary Sources
To cite a Primary Source, first choose the option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as the New York Times, 1851-2014, Modern World History, or Gale eBooks.
- Website = a document on a website such as Cold War History or another site found through a search engine such as Google.
Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing:
- Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose it.
- If you're not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.
Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source. Examples include eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.
Please note that primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.
Find Primary Sources in these Reference eBooks
Find Primary Sources in Online Subscription Databases
Historical Newspaper Databases
NOTE: when searching for primary sources in news databases, ALWAYS limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic. Look at other limiters on the advanced search page that might improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, essay, feature, front page / cover story, letter to the editor.
Access World News -- Historical and Current
Full facsimile images of American papers back to the colonial era.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690 – 2000
A timeline-based interface divided into key eras in U.S. history from 1690 to 2000. Each issue/event includes an overview, and links to related articles in newspapers of the time. Click on "Back to Search" in the upper left corner to perform an advanced search of historical newspapers in the parent database Access World News -- Historical and Current. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1851-2017
TIPS: Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
History Databases containing Primary Sources
Search "Cold War" and then select "Primary Sources" in the menu bar above the results list. The sidebar on the right allows you to limit your results to a various document types, such as Account or Correspondence or Government Document.
Annals of American History
With over 2,000 primary source documents, AAH Online illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times, offering a view of American history, society, and culture. Search by author, topic, or time period from 1493 to the first inaugural speech of Barack Obama in 2009.
Classroom Video On Demand
To view primary source videos, choose Advanced Search, enter your search terms (such as "Cold War"). Under Select Filters, change All Types to Newsreel or primary source.
Issues & Controversies in History
Background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view (i.e., primary sources) for every major debate and conflict in American history.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Modern World History
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos from the mid-15th century to the present. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
World History: The Modern Era
Click on Filter+ below the search bar on the homepage and limit to Documents. You can also limit to Media: Political Cartoons, Posters and Document Images.
Find Primary Sources on the Internet
NOTE: If a link on one of these sites is dead, try searching the link name using Google or another search engine. If you need assistance, just email Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor and we'll get on it!
Cold War History A history and documents collection from the Cold War International History Project of the Wilson Center Digital Archive.
Cold War Primary Resources A directory of primary source collections from the Miller Center, University of Virginia. Note: several links do not work; correct, comparable, or related links are below:
Modern History Sourcebook: A Bipolar World A large collection of document links from the Internet History Sourcebooks project by Paul Halsall, Fordham University. If a link to a document is broken, try searching the link name on Google. Can't find it? Email Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor.