Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Wikipedia's general disclaimer: "Wikipedia cannot guarantee the validity of the information found here. The content of any given article may recently have been changed, vandalized or altered by someone whose opinion does not correspond with the state of knowledge in the relevant fields."
FIND RELIABLE WEBSITES
Britannica Academic On your article page, click on Related for links to recommended websites.
Google Limit your search to reliable domains by including the phrase AND site:edu OR site:gov (edu for educational institutions in the U.S.; gov for U.S. government and U.S. state government entities.
Note that universities may allow their students to use the edu domain. If there is a tilde (~) in the URL, it may be a personal student page which is not monitored by the institution. In this case it may not be a reliable site.
TRUSTWORTHY US HISTORY WEBSITES
- Library of Congress Digital Collections: American History Searchable primary source collections at the Library of Congress; browse by topic, media, place, or time period.
- Biography of America From Annenberg Learner educational resources.
- The Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed The "Google" of African American history includes an online encyclopedia, primary sources, and much more.
- Digital History Comprehensive U.S. history website, including primary sources, from the Univ. of Houston's College of Education.
- Digital Public Library of America Discover more than 33 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Discovering American Women's History Online Digital collections of primary source materials browsable by subject, place, time period, and source type.
- Famous Trials The Web’s largest and most visited collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history. Created and maintained by Douglas O. Linder, professor at law school of University of Missouri, Kansas City.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 70,000 documents... and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials. Register for open access during the Covid-19 outbreak.
- History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web An annotated guide to the best web resources in American history, including primary sources and websites. Developed by American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
- History of U.S. Foreign Relations comes from the Office of the Historian, U.S. Dept of State, and includes documents.
- The Living New Deal serves as a clearinghouse for information on the New Deal; hosted by Dept. of Geography, Univ. of California, Berkeley.
- The Making of the Modern U.S. offers visitors a unique digital experience to learn and analyze the momentous events, themes, and movements throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Created by students at Michigan State University and under the direction of Dr. Thomas Summerhill and LEADR, exhibits utilize primary sources to offer new interpretations of social, economic, and political developments during this period.
- The Miller Center a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history.
- People's Century is the companion site to the PBS series of the same name documenting the extraordinary events of the century through the revealing personal testimony of the people who experienced them firsthand.
- Presidential Libraries provides exhibits on various materials on individual presidents, their presidencies, and their personal lives.
For more information on finding reliable websites, see the guide Find and Evaluate Websites.
CITING WEBSITES IN NOODLETOOLS
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from web pages if provided. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.
Remember: a website is an online source you discover through Google (or another search engine) as opposed to a subscription database you access through the library.
For a new citation, click on +New Source.
To cite a source on a website, choose Website.
- Websites can contain many kinds of sources including: Reference articles, ebook content, journal articles, primary sources, newspaper articles, speech transcripts, images, etc.
- If you can determine it, select the source type from the list under Website in NoodleTools.
- If it's not clear what type of source it is, choose Webpage.
If you have any questions about citing your primary source, email Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor.
We're happy to help!