Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Topics in World History:World War I: Websites

Sites

FIND RELIABLE WEBSITES

  • Britannica Academic On your article page, click on Related for links to recommended websites.
  • SweetSearch History, A Search Engine for Students searches only credible websites approved by research experts. 
  • Google Limit your search to reliable domains by including the phrase AND site:edu OR site:gov (edu for educational institutions in the U.S.; gov for U.S. government and U.S. state government entities.
    • Note that universities may allow their students to use the edu domain. If there is a tilde (~) in the URL, it may be a personal student page which is not monitored by the institution. In this case it may not be a reliable site.

 

For more information on finding reliable websites, see the guide Find and Evaluate Websites.

Useful Websites

 

US history sites

TRUSTWORTHY US HISTORY WEBSITES
  • Library of Congress Digital Collections: American History Searchable primary source collections at the Library of Congress; browse by topic, media, place, or time period.
  • Biography of America From Annenberg Learner educational resources.
  • The Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed The "Google" of African American history includes an online encyclopedia, primary sources, and much more.
  • Digital History Comprehensive U.S. history website, including primary sources, from the Univ. of Houston's College of Education.
  • Digital Public Library of America Discover more than 33 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
  • Discovering American Women's History Online Digital collections of primary source materials browsable by subject, place, time period, and source type.
  • Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 70,000 documents... and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials. Register for open access during the Covid-19 outbreak. 
  • History of U.S. Foreign Relations comes from the Office of the Historian, U.S. Dept of State, and includes documents.
  • The Making of the Modern U.S. offers visitors a unique digital experience to learn and analyze the momentous events, themes, and movements throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Created by students at Michigan State University and under the direction of Dr. Thomas Summerhill and LEADR, exhibits utilize primary sources to offer new interpretations of social, economic, and political developments during this period.
  • The Miller Center a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history.
  • People's Century is the companion site to the PBS series of the same name documenting the extraordinary events of the century through the revealing personal testimony of the people who experienced them firsthand. 
  • Presidential Libraries provides exhibits on various materials on individual presidents, their presidencies, and their personal lives.