NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
for ESSENTIAL background information - facts like WHO, WHAT, WHY, WHERE, and HOW - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.
American Eras: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
American Eras: The Colonial Era, 1600 – 1754
American Eras: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
American Eras: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
American Revolution: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Encyclopedia of Revolutionary America
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
Great Events from History: American History, 1492-1775: Exploration to the Colonial Era
Shaping of America, 1783-1815
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Great Events from History : African American History
Great Lives from History : African Americans
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present. Illustrated with many rare photographs, the Encyclopedia features articles on subjects such as mound builders, reservations, cigar-store Indians, child rearing, powwows, boarding schools, museums and collectors, dreams, the occupation of Alcatraz, and the impact of American Indian civilizations on Europeand the world. Contemporary topics include gambling, sports mascots, alcoholism, urban Indians, and the status of women. Biographies illuminate not only famous chiefs and warriors but an enormously diverse group of historical figures, such as Pauline Johnson, a Mohawk who becme the first American Indian woman to publish poetry; Charles Curtis, a Kaw Indian who served as vice president under Herbert Hoover; and "Chief" Bender, an Ojibwa who played and coached professional baseball and is laudedin the Baseball hall of Fame. Covering Arctic to southeastern peoples, separate articles on more than one hundred major tribes - from Abenaki to Zuni - discuss community origins, rituals and beliefs, social organizations, and present-day life.
Great North American Indians: Profiles in Life and Leadership by 
Black Women in America
Great Lives from History: American Women
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People